Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great combination. I cut the recipe in half and took the easy road. The recipe calls for frying everything separately in a skillet before transferring to a casserole dish and baking. I decided to leave it all in the skillet, covered it with a lid and continued to cook on the stove top until the potatoes were tender. We had a tiny bit left over and to make those stretch, I added it to some fried cabbage creating another great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Amazing recipe and so easy!! I added yellow squash and topped the bake with mozzarella and bread crumbs about 10 minutes in and it turned out great. I also cooked everything in coconut oil and used chorizo sausage. I'll be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetPepper13
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Oh my word, this was yummy! I'm still licking my lips. I'm trying to incorporate more veg in my meals so I tossed in carrots, chives, parsley and celery for good measure. I also seasoned at each step as opposed to end the end. Will definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPepper13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cave Hill, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
i i wanted to add potatoes to the usual sausage and peppers. great template, i used hot turkey sausage, and a couple of tablespoon of chipoltle peppers in adobe sauce instead of the wine and stock, added water to the drippings and let that reduce a minute or so and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Tried this last night - husband loved it and finished all of it. He hates peppers so only put in one - he thought they tasted great - next time I'll add more peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My husband's Italian family makes a version of this and I was hoping to surprise him with an even better version. This was good - but not what I was looking for. I used kielbasa instead of italian sausage (his family uses kielbasa) and I thought that substitution was fine, didn't seem to make a difference overall. I stuck exactly to the recipe for everything else. It was "good" - but not "great". I thought the potato portion was overwhelming. I will cut back on the potatoes next time (or omit them altogether). Also - the recipe doesn't really explain the potato part very well - do I cook them COMPLETELY on the stove top? Or are they going to finish cooking in the oven? I ended up having to cook the dish in the oven closer to an hour because my potatoes weren't getting done. I think with a little tweaking to the recipe, this would easily be 5 stars. But cooked as-is, it was just good. I'll still try it again with a few other changes and update my review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was really delicious. I used sweet turkey sausage, added fresh garlic and red pepper flakes. The only thing I'll do different next time is cut the potato slices thinner, I ended up having to cover the dish with aluminum foil for extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Used spicy italian sausage links and raosted the potatoes in the oven on 350 in a single layer (I cut them into slices) before adding the cooked sausage and veggies on tops, then baked and topped with cheese. Variations have become a regular meal in this house. Tonight Im trying it with spicy chicken sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Amazing! Halved the recipe and I wish I didn't! I omitted the white wine and used more chicken stock instead. I also only used 2 teas of olive oil in the beginning not the 1/4 cup. The sausage rendered off enough fat and oil its unnecessary to add more. I used red potatoes, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and added carrots which I thought was a good move. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage-Stuffed Piquillo Peppers

See how to make Spanish-influenced stuffed pimento peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States