Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Fantastic! I did change a few things to suit my own tastes and keep the calories down. First, I omitted the 1/4 c. of olive oil; I found 2 tbsp to be plenty. I didn't have white wine or chicken stock on hand but I did have vegetable stock which I used instead. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes, and I was very liberal with the Italian seasoning. Oh and I added two cloves of garlic, minced. I baked the potatoes separately to start, intending to put everything into the oven, but I ended up (after about 20 minutes of baking) adding the potatoes to the skillet with the sausage and vegetables, and covered them for probably another 15-20 minutes until they were perfectly tender. I also recommend adding a little feta cheese over top when served; really takes it up a notch! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The purists will hate this review, but because so many people tweak recipes which I generally find VERY helpful, I'm going to do it with this review. I love the ingredients and the "guts" of the recipe, however, after making this many times, I alter it to make it a little healthier and to cut down on the prep time. I dice up my potatoes, toss them with a little canola oil, spices to taste, and bake on parchment paper for 20-22 minutes. While they're baking, I brown my sausage (smoked turkey sausage) and then sautee my onions and peppers in the measly drippings the low-fat turkey sausage provides. When the potatoes are done, I combine them with the sausage, onions, and peppers and sprinkle with a little cheese (usually mozz or parm), then toss back in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese. Voila! Served with a simple green salad, this is a family favorite that's quick for a busy weeknight dinner, or anytime some good, old-fashioned comfort food is desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I prepared as written with the exception of throwing some fresh garlic in with the potatoes. Rustic, easy, and delicious! We served this with some fried cabbage and it was a wonderful on a cold November night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have to tell you that I'm eatting this as I'm writting - not easy but worth it!!!! This is wonderful!!! I did read a review before I made it that said it was greasy and that the person would never make it again, so was a little worried. However, there were such easy solutions to that and it sounded sooooo good, I just had to try it and I'm so glad I did!! I have a few confessions to make, however - 1. I didn't use Italian sausage (OMG! I know, I know! So sorry!) I used sausages from Toulouse as I could just grab them at the supermarket instead of going to a specialty store; 2. I did not add the 1/4 cup of oil for the potatoes, but just browned them in the fat that was left from the sausages and followed with the peppers and onions, and thus, less grease;3. I didn't have any pre-mixed Italian seasoning so threw in a bit of dried thym, oragano, basil and a sprinkle of hot red chili pepper. I had some roquette that, as you may know must be used quickly or it's lost, so tossed a handfull on top after serving and it was FANTASTIC!!! LOVE IT! Will definately make this again and again, for me, as well as for friends! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was pretty good, but not the best thing ever. I saw in the pictures that some people use bigger chunks of potatoes rather than the slices called for in the recipe, so I did too. Even though I had them nice and brown, they too longer than the 20 minutes in the oven to get fully cooked. I should have cooked them longer in the skillet. If I make this again, i will try the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Yum, a great dinner no matter how it's done. Simple food simple to make. Leaves a satisfied feeling in the tummy, all around the table. Serve with good Italian or French bread, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Perfect fall comfort food. I just made a few changes. First, I cooked the potatoes (doubled recipe) in the oven in olive oil (make sure you spray glass dish and heat olive oil before added potatoes. Add salt/pepper) for about an hour. I cooked onions and peppers in seperate pan and sausage in another. I drained and patted sausage with a paper towel and added everything into potatoes. I didn't use wine, but did use the chicken stock 1/3 cup. It came out great. I Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
We love this recipe. I had been looking for a recipe for italian sausage that the family would like. Wow! This is it. The flavors are delicious. The leftovers are even good re-heated (that is, IF there ever are any leftovers). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was something different from the usual. I used Country Crock light butter because I did not have any olive oil on hand. This recipe was worth every minute of prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Not bad, didn't feel like the flavors really soaked in. I didn't use any wine though, just chicken stock, and I seasoned the out of it before hand. I also substituted chicken for sausage so that could've made a huge difference. It's easy enough to do and worth another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States