Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is an excellent supper for week nights. The only modification I made was to use fresh spinach versus frozen and added it to my colander prior to draining my pasta so that it cooked it slightly. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinconning, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
In response to the previous poster who asked how the sausage should be prepared: my recommendation is to remove the casing- especially if you're serving it to kids. If you don't remove the casing, it could roll back while cooking the sausage pieces and you'll get the inevitable question from your kids, "What's this?" then "What's it made out of?" then "Ewww!" Best bet: use frozen sausages, thaw very lightly in the microwave, then use a sharp knife to cut membrane and remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is my family's new favorite recipe! They request it all the time! I make it a little healthier using whole wheat pasta, low-sodium chicken broth, and spicy Italian turkey sausage. We actually like the turkey sausage better than regular sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Absolutely wonderful recipe, quite elegant, extremely easy (I'm a novice) -- and restaurant quality taste! I used mild bulk sausage (did not add oil) and penne pasta. Not draining the sausage made me nervous, but the end result was light and extremely good. Even my teenage boys loved it, spinach and all! All I can say is, thank you for submitting this one. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyKidzMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow, this was VERY good! I used a pint of fresh tomatoes versus canned and I used fresh spinach versus frozen. I think this did make a big difference in the over all taste but this recipe still gets 5 stars all the way. I also tried this with and without Parm Cheese and I can't believe as a major cheese lover that I am even typing this (putting hand over mouth) but I felt it was better with out the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
4 stars with the changes I made. I added red wine (1/2-1 cup and reduced it longer) then added heavy whipping cream until thick and creamy. I threw in canned asparagus tips and fresh spinach. Great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
We found it 'salt-less' and that it needed some salt. 1/2 tsp should be fine. All I can say is know your sausage and make sure it's hot, or this dish will lack the zippy flavour that it could have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I just made this recipe. It's still simmering on the stove as I "speak". The official verdict is that this is VERY good. I layered my flavorings by using fresh and dried herbs as well as seasoning salt and paprika. I also added a splash of red wine. The end result is a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Really easy to make, and very good. I used a whole bag of fresh spinach, instead of frozen. Also. I used mild italian sausage, then I add crushed red pepper to spice it up to my heat tolerance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Unfortunately we weren't too impressed with this recipe. The sauce didn't reduce that much so the whole dish was soupy. All the flavors were great but we needed a bowl to eat it. Next time I won't add the juice from the tomatoes and cut back a bit on the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States