Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I do not normally write reviews but this is a great meal! My husband and I loved it and want to make more soon. I used hot Italian sausage and it had plenty of kick to it! Like others I used fresh spinach and drained my pasta over the spinach. I used part fresh basil and part dried based on what I had on hand. I did use seasoned canned diced tomatoes -- mine had green chilies -- just what I had on hand. I also added about 1/3 cup red wine (Merlot) to give it body and reduced the chicken broth to about 12 oz. Once the liquid was added, I brought it to a boil and then simmered to thicken the sauce. I also added about 1-2 tablespoons of Wondra as a thickener (like flour but doesn't clump -- in the same area as flour at the store). I prepared the noodles (I had bow tie) and spinach as the last step while the sauce was boiling/simmering to thicken. Then I mixed it all together and sprinkled individual servings with an Italian blend shredded cheese. Although I agree with another viewer, it is just as good with or without the cheese! My dish was not soupy at all since I thickened, boiled and simmered the sauce for at least 20 minutes. I can't wait to eat this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe was great! Super easy to make! I didnt have chicken broth so I used tomato paste mixed with water, and used diced cherry tomatoes instead of the canned ones and it turned out great! Also, added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
So I made this for dinner and it is now officially my husband's "FAVORITE". I would say its mine also. It was really GOOD, really FAST and really EASY!!!! I used Bow-Tie pasta & I didn't use the whole 10 oz pkg of Spinach, I just eyeballed the amt I wanted in there, and I didn't use the onions because yuck (haha,) but I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I just made this recipe and it came out really good. I used broccoli instead of spinach and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Photo by sweets_792
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I decided to give this recipe a try because both me and my husband love pasta and sausage, so it makes sense to put it together! I couldn't find italian sausage so I got regular ground sausage and added italian seasoning to it. I read some reviews where it was too much liquid so I was hesitant to add the whole can of chicken broth and tomatoes, but I decided to go for it. To me it was a perfect amount of liquid and I had leftovers so it soaked up some more overnight. Great amount and was so darn tasty! My husband raved about this and even went for seconds! I ate the leftovers for lunch that week and it just kept getting better! I highly recommend this recipe, would also be great for a potluck meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets_792

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
No better than my recipe and more work and clean up. Add extra spices and zucchini to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe! I added can of Rotel tomatoes + 1 can of Spicy Red Pepper diced tomatoes, then cooked slightly longer to reduce the extra liquid. Also used fresh spinach like other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this last night and we just loved it. I used chicken sausage, left out the broth (lower sodium this way), used fresh tomatoes (I had tomatoes that I was afraid if I did not use them soon they would go bad), a clove of garlic I added some zucchini, just had some on hand so I put in 1 large halved then sliced thin put with onion and garlic to brown then added chicken sausage. Great hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Whole family loved this recipe. I did use fresh spinach and put it in colander and poured cooked pasta on top to cook it slightly. Dish turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I read the reviews and adjusted the cooking but not the ingredients. It helps to let the liquid reduce to half before adding the spinach. This helped to make a less "soupy" dish and intensified the flavor. Leftovers were just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States