Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I do not normally write reviews but this is a great meal! My husband and I loved it and want to make more soon. I used hot Italian sausage and it had plenty of kick to it! Like others I used fresh spinach and drained my pasta over the spinach. I used part fresh basil and part dried based on what I had on hand. I did use seasoned canned diced tomatoes -- mine had green chilies -- just what I had on hand. I also added about 1/3 cup red wine (Merlot) to give it body and reduced the chicken broth to about 12 oz. Once the liquid was added, I brought it to a boil and then simmered to thicken the sauce. I also added about 1-2 tablespoons of Wondra as a thickener (like flour but doesn't clump -- in the same area as flour at the store). I prepared the noodles (I had bow tie) and spinach as the last step while the sauce was boiling/simmering to thicken. Then I mixed it all together and sprinkled individual servings with an Italian blend shredded cheese. Although I agree with another viewer, it is just as good with or without the cheese! My dish was not soupy at all since I thickened, boiled and simmered the sauce for at least 20 minutes. I can't wait to eat this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe was great! Super easy to make! I didnt have chicken broth so I used tomato paste mixed with water, and used diced cherry tomatoes instead of the canned ones and it turned out great! Also, added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
So I made this for dinner and it is now officially my husband's "FAVORITE". I would say its mine also. It was really GOOD, really FAST and really EASY!!!! I used Bow-Tie pasta & I didn't use the whole 10 oz pkg of Spinach, I just eyeballed the amt I wanted in there, and I didn't use the onions because yuck (haha,) but I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I just made this recipe and it came out really good. I used broccoli instead of spinach and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets_792
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I decided to give this recipe a try because both me and my husband love pasta and sausage, so it makes sense to put it together! I couldn't find italian sausage so I got regular ground sausage and added italian seasoning to it. I read some reviews where it was too much liquid so I was hesitant to add the whole can of chicken broth and tomatoes, but I decided to go for it. To me it was a perfect amount of liquid and I had leftovers so it soaked up some more overnight. Great amount and was so darn tasty! My husband raved about this and even went for seconds! I ate the leftovers for lunch that week and it just kept getting better! I highly recommend this recipe, would also be great for a potluck meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets_792

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
No better than my recipe and more work and clean up. Add extra spices and zucchini to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe! I added can of Rotel tomatoes + 1 can of Spicy Red Pepper diced tomatoes, then cooked slightly longer to reduce the extra liquid. Also used fresh spinach like other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this last night and we just loved it. I used chicken sausage, left out the broth (lower sodium this way), used fresh tomatoes (I had tomatoes that I was afraid if I did not use them soon they would go bad), a clove of garlic I added some zucchini, just had some on hand so I put in 1 large halved then sliced thin put with onion and garlic to brown then added chicken sausage. Great hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Whole family loved this recipe. I did use fresh spinach and put it in colander and poured cooked pasta on top to cook it slightly. Dish turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I read the reviews and adjusted the cooking but not the ingredients. It helps to let the liquid reduce to half before adding the spinach. This helped to make a less "soupy" dish and intensified the flavor. Leftovers were just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States