Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is an excellent supper for week nights. The only modification I made was to use fresh spinach versus frozen and added it to my colander prior to draining my pasta so that it cooked it slightly. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinconning, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
In response to the previous poster who asked how the sausage should be prepared: my recommendation is to remove the casing- especially if you're serving it to kids. If you don't remove the casing, it could roll back while cooking the sausage pieces and you'll get the inevitable question from your kids, "What's this?" then "What's it made out of?" then "Ewww!" Best bet: use frozen sausages, thaw very lightly in the microwave, then use a sharp knife to cut membrane and remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is my family's new favorite recipe! They request it all the time! I make it a little healthier using whole wheat pasta, low-sodium chicken broth, and spicy Italian turkey sausage. We actually like the turkey sausage better than regular sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Absolutely wonderful recipe, quite elegant, extremely easy (I'm a novice) -- and restaurant quality taste! I used mild bulk sausage (did not add oil) and penne pasta. Not draining the sausage made me nervous, but the end result was light and extremely good. Even my teenage boys loved it, spinach and all! All I can say is, thank you for submitting this one. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyKidzMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow, this was VERY good! I used a pint of fresh tomatoes versus canned and I used fresh spinach versus frozen. I think this did make a big difference in the over all taste but this recipe still gets 5 stars all the way. I also tried this with and without Parm Cheese and I can't believe as a major cheese lover that I am even typing this (putting hand over mouth) but I felt it was better with out the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
4 stars with the changes I made. I added red wine (1/2-1 cup and reduced it longer) then added heavy whipping cream until thick and creamy. I threw in canned asparagus tips and fresh spinach. Great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
We found it 'salt-less' and that it needed some salt. 1/2 tsp should be fine. All I can say is know your sausage and make sure it's hot, or this dish will lack the zippy flavour that it could have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I just made this recipe. It's still simmering on the stove as I "speak". The official verdict is that this is VERY good. I layered my flavorings by using fresh and dried herbs as well as seasoning salt and paprika. I also added a splash of red wine. The end result is a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Really easy to make, and very good. I used a whole bag of fresh spinach, instead of frozen. Also. I used mild italian sausage, then I add crushed red pepper to spice it up to my heat tolerance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I really liked this and to be honest not many recipes are keepers for me, somehow people always give them a 5 and i feel like i did something wrong, but this is a 5! I used sweet Italian sausage and took them out of the casing and did as the other reviewer suggested and used fresh spinach and just drained my pasta over it to cook it! Great tip! My family liked it so much I will be making it again this week since I have an extra bag of fresh spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States