Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
this turned out well, though I did make some alterations based on what I already had. For the sausage, I used the Jimmy Dean Hot crumbled sausage. When it was pretty cooked, I added the onion, and also some sliced mushrooms. Instead of chicken broth, I used 7 oz of chardonnay, based on reviews (I'd try sherry next time!). I skipped the tomatoes and used fresh spinach instead of frozen. For the pasta, I went with farfalle (bow tie). I topped individual portions with crumbled feta. I thought it all came together pretty well, and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was an easy, yummy meal! This recipe gave me a good basic foundation/inspirationand I used it to make a great, lighter version. I used Eckrich smoked turkey sausage (skinless), fresh sweet bell pepper sliced thin, omitted the broth and followed the rest of the recipe, for the most part. I did use fresh spinach tho. Served it over Dreamfields penne pasta and YUM!! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wonderfully easy and delicious meal. I did dice up some carrots and put them in with the noodles while they cooked. Also added about 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and fennel. Sauteed celery and red bell peppers with the onions. Next time, I think when I add the chicken broth, I'll throw in the uncooked noodles and let them absorb the flavors rather than reduce the liquid. Adding water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I cooked the sauce for about 45 minutes to reduce it. Added some dried red peppers for heat. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Really simple and easy! I love it when I can serve my family a complete meal in one bowl. I did use fresh baby spinach, wilted by draining the pasta over it in a colander. Simmered the sausage mixture for quite a while - about 15min - to meld flavors and reduce, then poured that over the pasta and just toss well. With the ample amount of leftovers I plan to add more chicken broth, and another bag of baby spinach, to make soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is a fantastic basic recipe that is easy and quick to prepare on a weeknight or whenever you are in a hurry. I have made this recipe as is and it is very pretty on the plate and oh so yummy. What I especially like about this recipe is that it can be changed up in so many ways so it is always "fresh and new". I have made this dish many times with one or more variations to this basic recipe. The changes include: replace the sausage with skinless, boneless, diced or shredded chicken (fresh made or leftover), replace the dried basil with pesto, replace the diced tomatoes with spicier Rotel type tomatoes or use fresh diced tomatoes, use some drained pasta water in place of the chicken stock, use diced yellow peppers with the onions to add even more color to the presentation on the plate, but any way you make it is great looking and great tasting. Don't get me wrong, the recipe is great without changing a thing, but one or more of these other variations can help keep this dish from getting boring if it hits your regular menu rotation on a consistent basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this recipe with the following changes. 1) Used half spicy (hot) and half mild Italian sausage (casings removed). 2) Omitted olive oil and fried the sausage with the onions and garlic. 3) When sausage was done, added 8 oz. of fresh mushrooms, sliced, and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, and sauted for 1-2 minutes. 4) Omitted the chicken broth and added two (14.5 oz) cans Italian style diced tomatoes and simmered mixture for 5-6 minutes. 5) Removed from heat and added 3 cups roughly torn fresh spinach, 8 oz. cubed mozzarella cheese, and cooked penne, stirring well to combine. Sprinkled with grated Parmesan cheese and baked in 425 degree oven for 10-15 minutes. Delicious! Thanks, Tammy, for a wonderful and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I've been making a similar recipe for quite a few years. Nice basic recipe. Also a great way to use up veggies in fridge. A few of these. A couple of those. If I'm abundant with veggies I'll roast them first & then add them. Also sometimes I add a little fennel. Maybe a bay leaf or Italian seasoning. Be creative. I never make it the same, but it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Everybody in my family loved it, even my 4 year old picky daughter. I omitted the chicken broth. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This is amazing. I used all fresh ingredients,except for the tomatoes and broth,the whole family loved it! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States