Sausage Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it deserved 3 as is and 5 when i got done with it. This is what i did. I did not use Bob Evens Italian Sausage i used a generic brand, I substituted the white beans for kidney beans, i added one can of chicken broth, i doubled the amount of pasta,i added a can of tomato sauce, 2 dashes of Italian seasoning, and a pinch of chili pepper flakes. Now i didn't eat this myself, ( I'm a vegetarian ) but everyone i served it to absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I had to add so many more things to make this to even taste what I would call flavor. I think I will try my own Mom's recipe and call it good. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very yummy with these modifications: You may want to use Ital. flavored ground turkey instead of the sausage to reduce fat. Also, used 3 cans chicken broth instead of the beef broth. Added 2 cloves garlic with the onion & 2 tsp. dried basil & 1/2 tsp. dried oregano with the other ingredients. Upped the pasta to 3/4 c. Hubby said it was his favorite soup I'd made for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Leona Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
YUM! Loved this soup the very first time. I'm one who always tries the recipe exactly the way it's written the first time and then I make any changes the next time I make it. This was good right out of the chute!! I sprinkled grated American Grana Parmesan on top before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
It is a great recipe. I made it with spicy sausage and instead of usting white beans I used black beans. I also fried the pasta with tbsp of oil to give it a little bit more of texture. It was my first minestrone and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
delicous! i used spicey italian sausage and it was great! it was like warming your body. the only thing is that it is very chucky so add more broth if you like things soupy. you could even turn it into a chili if u wanted simply by reducing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very tasty but all my liquid got absorbed so it was more like a stew. I will add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Turned out delicious. My husband said it was the best soup he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This soup is delicious. I only added carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This dish was pretty easy to prepare. I was, however, (not being an experienced cook) confused about whether or not I should boil the noodles before I put them in with everything else. I didn't because it doesn't say to, and it came out just fine, it just took a little longer to get soft. But it tasted great at the end and I got to add in anything else in my spice collection that I thought might taste good! It's fun to experiment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States