Sausage Meatball Sub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I was looking for a recipe for meatballs using only Italian sausage so I tried this one. Exactly what I was looking for. I didn't make sandwiches with them but put them in a ravioli casserole. They did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Excellent! I prepared this a little differently than the recipe stated. I cooked the meatballs in the sauce for 45 minutes, which made the sauce nice and thick and the meatballs had great flavor. Topped with my favorite sub toppings, these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Pretty tasty. This is how my mother would make meatballs (using oatmeal). I think these would be better using regular bread crumbs instead. Also, I finished these off in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
My husband had bought about a dozen sausage rolls because they were on sale, so I was looking for a way to use some of it up. These grinders were very good. My whole family LOVED them, even my 9 year old daughter, and she is very picky! I added salt and pepper to the sausage mixture, I used cheddar instead of mozzarella cheese and I fried some onions and peppers (green and yellow) to go on top of the grinders also. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This is very good on grilled garlic bread! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this according to the recipe, with no changes. The meatballs were tasty, tender and moist, and my 6 year old son and husband both loved them. I buttered and toasted the fresh buns from my local grocery in my cast iron skillet and melted the cheese in the oven briefly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My husband and I enjoyed this meal. I used Bob Evans Zesty because my grocery store didn't have italian and we like things with some kick. I sauteed onion, peppers, and mushrooms and added them to the sauce and then finished the sandwiches in the oven to melt the cheese. It was an easy, satisfying meal. We will use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is my go-to meatball recipe. The first time I made them I made them exactly as the recipe says to, then I tweaked it a little. I usually use reduced fat sausage which is not seasoned so I add italian seasoning, crushed red peppers, garlic powder, and pepper. I also do half oatmeal, half seasoned breadcrumbs. If the sausage roll I get is only 12 oz. then I use 1 egg and a little less oatmeal/breadcrub mixture. I also bake them in the oven at 375 for about 20-25 mins depending on the size, because doing on the stovetop was too much work!! I use these for our spaghetti dinners (instead of making subs with them). Sooo yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Very good and different dinner. My husband loves meatball subs so I thought it would be cool to make them myself. We should have used better hoagies. We used wheat - trying to find the most healthy ones. But other than that they were delicious. I used 50% less fat pork sausage and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were easy and delicious. My 4 yr old son helped mix them up (we used crackers instead of oatmeal because we didn't have any) and they were great. We will be making these again. Next time we'll try them with the oatmeal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States