Sausage Meatball Sub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious meatball sub! I used panko bread crumbs in place of the oatmeal for the metballs. I also used leftover sauce from Garlic Spaghetti I from this site. Great snack or lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
My husband had bought about a dozen sausage rolls because they were on sale, so I was looking for a way to use some of it up. These grinders were very good. My whole family LOVED them, even my 9 year old daughter, and she is very picky! I added salt and pepper to the sausage mixture, I used cheddar instead of mozzarella cheese and I fried some onions and peppers (green and yellow) to go on top of the grinders also. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This is very good on grilled garlic bread! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Excellent! I prepared this a little differently than the recipe stated. I cooked the meatballs in the sauce for 45 minutes, which made the sauce nice and thick and the meatballs had great flavor. Topped with my favorite sub toppings, these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I was looking for a recipe for meatballs using only Italian sausage so I tried this one. Exactly what I was looking for. I didn't make sandwiches with them but put them in a ravioli casserole. They did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this according to the recipe, with no changes. The meatballs were tasty, tender and moist, and my 6 year old son and husband both loved them. I buttered and toasted the fresh buns from my local grocery in my cast iron skillet and melted the cheese in the oven briefly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Very good and different dinner. My husband loves meatball subs so I thought it would be cool to make them myself. We should have used better hoagies. We used wheat - trying to find the most healthy ones. But other than that they were delicious. I used 50% less fat pork sausage and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My husband and I aren't meatball lovers, but our son is. I thought we might be able to endure the meatballs, as they are made with sausage. OH MY GOODNESS! The whole family loved these! Using homemade sauce, I made spaghetti & meatballs, rather than subs. I will definitely try the subs next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were easy and delicious. My 4 yr old son helped mix them up (we used crackers instead of oatmeal because we didn't have any) and they were great. We will be making these again. Next time we'll try them with the oatmeal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! We make it all the time now. I usually hate meatballs, but this is very yummy! The last time we made it, we actually used Marinara sauce instead of spaghetti sauce. I think it would be really good with pizza sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States