Sausage Linguine with Ginger Pumpkin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
It's not bad, just unfinished. It needs something and being a novice, I have no idea what it could be! It's dry with just the pumpkin and the cream to make the sauce, you can't taste the pumpkin and I'm definitely missing a chunky vegitable because of it. With the noodles and italian sausage, it almost seems natural to add tomatoes, and maybe a can of diced tomatoes is all it needs, but I'd really like to see someone bring out the pumpkin flavor and create a better sauce. Until then, I won't be using this recipe again! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING4MYBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aline Louise
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great recipe, but I see what the prior poster meant by "unfinished." I left out the onions (hate em') and tweaked the sauce a little. I used the pumpkin and cream idea as a base, and made a slightly thinner, creamier sauce with sour cream and cream cheese instead of heavy cream. I also added olive oil, kept the garlic, plus added milk, chicken stock, Trader Joe's pumpkin butter, crushed fennel, cinnamon, salt, pepper, and ginger to taste. The result was a creamy, delicious sauce that was absolutely amazing, with a rich pumpkin flavor. Ok, so I tweaked the recipe a LOT, but the pumpkin sauce base found here was my inspiration to build this great sauce. Served with a side of baked herb bread, and a glass of Italian red wine - PRIMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aline Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I was soooo excited about this receipe...but I agree with previous reviews it definately lacks something. Tried a few suggestions from below, but still wasn't quite what I was looking for. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I liked this recipie but modified it somewhat. After I sauteed the sausage, onion and garlic, I added chicken stock for another layer of flavor....let it reduce before adding the cream and pumkin puree....I also added freshly grated nutmeg and chopped sage at the end as well as topped with freshly grated parmasean. My husband loved the flavor, but thought it was still a little thick...would thin with pasta water last minute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this without sausage. I added some red pepper flake, which gave it a nice kick. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very very tasty. I took a few liberties with seasonings, but mostly followed the recipe :) I used fresh ginger instead of ground, and cooked it with the sausage and extra onion and garlic. Also my sausage was sage flavored. I added a dollop of sour cream to the sauce, along with parsley, a little ground ginger, some rosemary and a bit of sage. Turned out very good, thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: Made this again with turkey breakfast sausage, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is very good. I used sage sausage instead of the sweet italian sausage, and I did't have any cream so I used milk. Mine turned out a little dry so next time I will use a little more milk to thin it out even more. Otherwise it's very good and I will be making it for my husband again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
WE liked this. WE added white wine and sage to the sauce. Its just like Rachael Rays pumpkin penne with sage.WE will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Voss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
THIS WAS WONDERFUL! i didn't feel much like cooking today and was looking in my fridge and allrecipes for idea...i had pasta, i had pumpkin and i had sausage...and i came to this recipe...omg sooo good...i added chicken broth like another reveiwer did and a lil sour cream. result. creamy , pumpkiny goodness.! i will deff make this again on days i don't feel like being all gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Perla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States