Sausage Linguine with Ginger Pumpkin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very very very delicious. I added a can of tomatoes to the pumpkin puree and i cooked the ginger with the sausage and the onions. It was wonderful and a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Wow, this was so good! I used whole wheat pasta, fat free milk, and I added some fresh spinach to make it healthier. I doubled the amount of garlic and cream and it was amazing, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Voss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
THIS WAS WONDERFUL! i didn't feel much like cooking today and was looking in my fridge and allrecipes for idea...i had pasta, i had pumpkin and i had sausage...and i came to this recipe...omg sooo good...i added chicken broth like another reveiwer did and a lil sour cream. result. creamy , pumpkiny goodness.! i will deff make this again on days i don't feel like being all gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Perla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I liked this recipie but modified it somewhat. After I sauteed the sausage, onion and garlic, I added chicken stock for another layer of flavor....let it reduce before adding the cream and pumkin puree....I also added freshly grated nutmeg and chopped sage at the end as well as topped with freshly grated parmasean. My husband loved the flavor, but thought it was still a little thick...would thin with pasta water last minute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aline Louise
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great recipe, but I see what the prior poster meant by "unfinished." I left out the onions (hate em') and tweaked the sauce a little. I used the pumpkin and cream idea as a base, and made a slightly thinner, creamier sauce with sour cream and cream cheese instead of heavy cream. I also added olive oil, kept the garlic, plus added milk, chicken stock, Trader Joe's pumpkin butter, crushed fennel, cinnamon, salt, pepper, and ginger to taste. The result was a creamy, delicious sauce that was absolutely amazing, with a rich pumpkin flavor. Ok, so I tweaked the recipe a LOT, but the pumpkin sauce base found here was my inspiration to build this great sauce. Served with a side of baked herb bread, and a glass of Italian red wine - PRIMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aline Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I had received a can of pumpkin puree in a care package from my mom and had no idea what to make since I didn't have pie crust and sure didn't feel like making some. This is similar to a Rachael Ray recipe and I kind of combined them both. I added 1/8 tsp clove, 1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (it is the secrete to the sauce...don't leave out nutmeg) and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. (I think I lessened the amount of ginger because of the additional spices.) I also added dried sage, 2 tsp of it. (The sage with sausage and pumpkin is amazing.) I followed Rachael Ray's idea of adding chicken stock and white wine to loosen the sauce. (2 tbls of heavy cream just isn't enough liquid for this to be a creamy sauce.) It was super tasty and I'm surprised there were left overs the way my boyfriend was eating it. I will certainly make it again with my changes. (I only gave it 4 stars because I did make a lot of changes for it to be as good as it was.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this without sausage. I added some red pepper flake, which gave it a nice kick. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This sauce turned out pretty good, although I took quite a few liberties with it: I made it vegetarian and substituted lima and garbanzo beans for the sausage, I used a combination of plain yogurt and cream cheese instead of cream, and I mixed in some parmesan cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Thanks to prior posts I knew this wasn't going to be done on its own. It was more like a paste than a sauce. I used 1/2 cup of half and half, 1 cup of chicken broth and 1/2 plain yogurt. It was delicious! I nixed the sausage (I don't like it) but next time I'll add in chicken along with some spinach to give it color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States