Sausage Linguine with Ginger Pumpkin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vektor
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great recipe, but I see what the prior poster meant by "unfinished." I left out the onions (hate em') and tweaked the sauce a little. I used the pumpkin and cream idea as a base, and made a slightly thinner, creamier sauce with sour cream and cream cheese instead of heavy cream. I also added olive oil, kept the garlic, plus added milk, chicken stock, Trader Joe's pumpkin butter, crushed fennel, cinnamon, salt, pepper, and ginger to taste. The result was a creamy, delicious sauce that was absolutely amazing, with a rich pumpkin flavor. Ok, so I tweaked the recipe a LOT, but the pumpkin sauce base found here was my inspiration to build this great sauce. Served with a side of baked herb bread, and a glass of Italian red wine - PRIMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vektor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I was soooo excited about this receipe...but I agree with previous reviews it definately lacks something. Tried a few suggestions from below, but still wasn't quite what I was looking for. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very very tasty. I took a few liberties with seasonings, but mostly followed the recipe :) I used fresh ginger instead of ground, and cooked it with the sausage and extra onion and garlic. Also my sausage was sage flavored. I added a dollop of sour cream to the sauce, along with parsley, a little ground ginger, some rosemary and a bit of sage. Turned out very good, thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: Made this again with turkey breakfast sausage, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I liked this recipie but modified it somewhat. After I sauteed the sausage, onion and garlic, I added chicken stock for another layer of flavor....let it reduce before adding the cream and pumkin puree....I also added freshly grated nutmeg and chopped sage at the end as well as topped with freshly grated parmasean. My husband loved the flavor, but thought it was still a little thick...would thin with pasta water last minute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
It's not bad, just unfinished. It needs something and being a novice, I have no idea what it could be! It's dry with just the pumpkin and the cream to make the sauce, you can't taste the pumpkin and I'm definitely missing a chunky vegitable because of it. With the noodles and italian sausage, it almost seems natural to add tomatoes, and maybe a can of diced tomatoes is all it needs, but I'd really like to see someone bring out the pumpkin flavor and create a better sauce. Until then, I won't be using this recipe again! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING4MYBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
OK not the best-looking dish I've ever made but it tasted good! We debated if this should be 3 stars or 4, my husband kept saying 3.5. It was decent comfort food on a night when we wanted something simple that we didn't need to go to the store for any ingredients. Happened to have sausage in the freezer and had just bought a can of pumpkin. Added white wine, crushed red pepper, sage, a sprinkle of nutmeg, and a dollop of cream cheese. It worked out OK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
WE liked this. WE added white wine and sage to the sauce. Its just like Rachael Rays pumpkin penne with sage.WE will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Wow, this was so good! I used whole wheat pasta, fat free milk, and I added some fresh spinach to make it healthier. I doubled the amount of garlic and cream and it was amazing, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I had received a can of pumpkin puree in a care package from my mom and had no idea what to make since I didn't have pie crust and sure didn't feel like making some. This is similar to a Rachael Ray recipe and I kind of combined them both. I added 1/8 tsp clove, 1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (it is the secrete to the sauce...don't leave out nutmeg) and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. (I think I lessened the amount of ginger because of the additional spices.) I also added dried sage, 2 tsp of it. (The sage with sausage and pumpkin is amazing.) I followed Rachael Ray's idea of adding chicken stock and white wine to loosen the sauce. (2 tbls of heavy cream just isn't enough liquid for this to be a creamy sauce.) It was super tasty and I'm surprised there were left overs the way my boyfriend was eating it. I will certainly make it again with my changes. (I only gave it 4 stars because I did make a lot of changes for it to be as good as it was.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very very very delicious. I added a can of tomatoes to the pumpkin puree and i cooked the ginger with the sausage and the onions. It was wonderful and a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States