Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Kale flavor came through really, really strongly in this recipe. Some may really like that, but it wasn't such a winner with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was delicious!! I used hot turkey sausage, browned in a soup pot, then added onion, carrots and celery. When the veggies were soft I added chicken broth and the kale and cooked the kale in the pot, then added 2 cans of white beans, some italian seasoning, salt and pepper. It was delicious and very easy to make, definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboy Mark
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was outstanding! A truly Portuguese dish. I added one sliced zucchini and a can of diced roasted garlic tomatoes, also used one can of black beans and one can of Cannellini beans instead. I will try to make this every week. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!The kale really does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used 6c chicken broth - added 28 oz diced italiam tomatoes, 1T hot sauce and 1t cayanne pepper....topped with 1T parm per serving - yummo good! THANK YOU for a great way to use up my CSA kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used white beans and spicy italian sausage browned without the casing and spinach. In the bottom of the bowl I added parmasian cheese and garlic croutons.It was excellent!! I was asked to make it again from all who had it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Daly Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
so very good. used turkey kielbasa and just threw the kale in with everything else instead of precooking it separately. I took other's advice and sauteed the sausage with garlic and onions- I should have browned the sausage before adding the onions and garlic though. All in all, found this really easy and delicious. Loved that I could make it more healthy and will absolutely be making this again. Oh- added some soy, Worcestershire and hot sauce for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a great starter recipe! I put carrots, celery, garlic and onion in the food processor and sweated them in the dutch oven with EVOO and 2 bay leaves. Then I followed the recipe but I did use canned beans instead of dry. I simmered my soup on the stove for about 4 hours, it turned out great!! I served with homeade biscuts and parmesan cheese on top of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I found this recipe on another website and checked here because I trust the readers here to be both helpful and honest. My recipe includes a 10 or 14oz can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes with juice and adding those certainly gave it some zip. I sauteed a chopped onion with the sausage and then added chopped garlic as well as a cut up zuccini and some freeze dried shallots. Two cans of drained, rinsed canellini beans and two cans of chicken stock gave us a very tasty meal. I hadn't thought of that cheese rind tucked away in the freezer so thanks for that tip - I'll be using that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Liked the base recipe, but as written is a bit bland (so I add garlic) and pre-cooking the kale seems unnecessary. Couln't find linguica sausage..so I used Italian and crumbled it. I also used a parmesean rind when cooking the beans (advice from another review..good idea!) and sprinkle with parmesean when done. Use French bread for dipping and eat up..it's really a pretty healthy soup (I cut the sausage to ~12 onces). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
It didn't taste like much. I had to do a lot of doctoring up to make it flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States