Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have cooked this soup several times in the last four months. It always is a hit. I followed one of the reviewers suggestions and add a can of diced tomatoes and also sauté onions and garlic with the sliced sausage. I've used a couple kinds of sausage - smoked turkey sausage or andouille~ since I haven't been able to find the variety called for in the recipe. Very good and filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've made this before as written and it was a bit ho hum. While it is a good basis for a better soup. I just chopped my kale and added it in to simmer with the rest. I also used 3 cans ( drained ) of white beans. I added 2 T. of garlic paste, 1 T. of Marjoram and 1 T. of rosemary along with salt and pepper. I used Italian sausages in casings, cut into chunks. This was the easiest for us to find and works quite well in the soup. A good hearty cold and rainy day soup.. make adjustments to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used andouille instead of linguica and it turned out great. Don't try spinach in place of kale though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Love this soup. I used swiss chard because I have a ton in my garden. Freezes great and wonderful to pull out for a last minute meal. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was very easy to make and tasted delicious. I added onion powder to give it a slightly more buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Even better the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I needed a recipe to use up the rest of the smoked turkey sausage i had from another recipe. I used 2 cans of beans with the juice instead of soaking overnight. I also added a can of Rotel for some added some heat. Sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe! I used 1/2 mild & 1/2 hot sausage with casing removed. A can of diced tomatoes w/green chilies and a can of zesty jalapenos instead of the plum tomatoes & in addition to onions added celery & garlic. I did the quick cook on the beans in 3 cups of water adding the bean water to the soup and also 1 can of navy beans to make the broth thicker (probably did not need to). I cooked it about 4 hrs before adding the kale. It seemed a bit spicy to me while it was cooking but after I added the kale was perfect! My husband said this is the best soup I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Went with two types of sausage, and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Magnificent. I'm missing the "something" to give it memorable flavor, but it's savory, warm (winter snowstorm delight), and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I thought this was very good - healthy (used chicken sausage) and hearty. Perfect for a cold day's lunch. One thing I did do a bit differently was puree about half of the beans with some broth to make the soup seem more creamy. Also, I don't have a pressure cooker so just made the beans as directed. Finally, took a shortcut by using frozen chopped kale I found at Costco recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States