Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
We liked it! I got as close to the recipe with what I had. I've never cooked with kale before and I'm glad I did. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I am generously giving this recipe 3 stars. I had to sub kielbasa, but I can't imagine the recommended sausage could really boost the flavor so significantly improve the flavor of this soup to the 5 stars that the others have suggested. After prepping the soup as the recipe stated I realized I couldn't serve it to my family "as is" (BLAND. BORING), so I scrambled to make adjustments last minute. Here's the 5 star revised version: I added a bay leaf and a 3 inch piece of the rind from some parmigiano-reggiano cheese (I saw this in another recipe -- it's awesome!) to the simmering soup. I also added 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 2 tsp. salt, and a couple good shakes of garlic powder. (In the future I would use fresh garlic sauteed with the shallots.) I don't see why in the original recipe the kale was blanched before the rest and feel like many of the beneficial nutrients were washed right down the drain. It seems to simply be a time-wasting extra step. If I make this again I will likely cook the kale right in the soup pot...not worrying about the green color that might result. I simmered the soup with these additions for about 45 minutes which allowed the soup to thicken up perfectly. Finally, to each serving I gave the option of a splash of cream...which I would HIGHLY recommend. There's the 5 stars I was hoping for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Instead of linguica, I used chourico (spicy Portuguese sausage) which gives the soup the added kick and enhances the flavor without adding hot sauce. You will need to remove the casing before slicing the chourico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This soup is very Portuguese in style. If linguica is not available just substitute any smoked sausage for a similar result. Finely shredded couve, the typical Portuguese kale, would make this a very authentic Portuguese soup. Use piri piri hot sauce to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I couldn't find the linguica sausage in my area so I just used beef smoked sausage and some extra hot sauce. Simple but very good and packed full of flavor. I grew up on bean soups and this one brought back great memories. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Good winter soup. A spicer sausage might be better. Or maybe a bit more hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is pretty good, but bland. I felt like it needed something to pep it up, but not sure what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a great soup. This is one of our winter favs. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used turkey sausage and canned beans, and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Sooooooo yummy! Linguica is hard to come by in the South, so I used turkey kielbasa instead (Trader J's). I used canned beans (with liquid) and added more chicken broth (3 cans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States