Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
so very good. used turkey kielbasa and just threw the kale in with everything else instead of precooking it separately. I took other's advice and sauteed the sausage with garlic and onions- I should have browned the sausage before adding the onions and garlic though. All in all, found this really easy and delicious. Loved that I could make it more healthy and will absolutely be making this again. Oh- added some soy, Worcestershire and hot sauce for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a great starter recipe! I put carrots, celery, garlic and onion in the food processor and sweated them in the dutch oven with EVOO and 2 bay leaves. Then I followed the recipe but I did use canned beans instead of dry. I simmered my soup on the stove for about 4 hours, it turned out great!! I served with homeade biscuts and parmesan cheese on top of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I found this recipe on another website and checked here because I trust the readers here to be both helpful and honest. My recipe includes a 10 or 14oz can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes with juice and adding those certainly gave it some zip. I sauteed a chopped onion with the sausage and then added chopped garlic as well as a cut up zuccini and some freeze dried shallots. Two cans of drained, rinsed canellini beans and two cans of chicken stock gave us a very tasty meal. I hadn't thought of that cheese rind tucked away in the freezer so thanks for that tip - I'll be using that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Liked the base recipe, but as written is a bit bland (so I add garlic) and pre-cooking the kale seems unnecessary. Couln't find linguica sausage..so I used Italian and crumbled it. I also used a parmesean rind when cooking the beans (advice from another review..good idea!) and sprinkle with parmesean when done. Use French bread for dipping and eat up..it's really a pretty healthy soup (I cut the sausage to ~12 onces). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
It didn't taste like much. I had to do a lot of doctoring up to make it flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious. I didn't have a full cup of shallots so I filled in with yellow onion and leek. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This soup has great flavor! I didn't have sausage links so I used ground italian sausage and used the suggested hot sauce. I don't have a pressure cooker either so I used the fast boil method written on the bean bag. I didn't reserve the bean water and just used the chicken broth. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhusbandswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This soup is wonderful! I don't like spicy food so I omitted the hot sauce and used smoked turkey sausage in place of the linquica. I can't wait to eat leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a very tasty and nutritious soup. I used kielbasa instead of linguica; and instead of cooking the kale separately, I copied a similar kale-soup recipe and simmered it for 25 mins. in the soup, adding chicken broth as needed until I had the consistency I wanted (I used less than 4 cups broth). Very delicious and I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
For speed and ease of what was on hand...I used canned beans, both white and black, beef broth and hot and spicy turkey italian sausage. The soup was very good and very filling. A do over for sure.---------------------- Revisited: Made this soup again...as suggested I did precook the Kale, but I didn't cool it as I was making the soup and allowing it to cook longer then stated. Again I used Spicy Turkey Italian Sausage. I took it out of the casings and broke it into small pieces as it was cooking. as a matter of preference I placed the cooked sausage on paper towel to absorb whatever grease there was (Very little tho) I then sauteed the shallots in the same pan I did the meat in. As the directions said, I added a small amount of chicken broth to get the lil bits off the bottom of the pan. I then added the meat, shallots, kale and about 6 cups of chicken broth with 2 cans of Great Northern Beans (drained one and drained and rinsed one) in a 4 quart kettle. My soup cooked about 4 hours and was very tasty again. With the spicy sausage I needed very little in the way of pepper or salt (I did however add some salt to the Kale as it cooked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States