Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I am generously giving this recipe 3 stars. I had to sub kielbasa, but I can't imagine the recommended sausage could really boost the flavor so significantly improve the flavor of this soup to the 5 stars that the others have suggested. After prepping the soup as the recipe stated I realized I couldn't serve it to my family "as is" (BLAND. BORING), so I scrambled to make adjustments last minute. Here's the 5 star revised version: I added a bay leaf and a 3 inch piece of the rind from some parmigiano-reggiano cheese (I saw this in another recipe -- it's awesome!) to the simmering soup. I also added 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 2 tsp. salt, and a couple good shakes of garlic powder. (In the future I would use fresh garlic sauteed with the shallots.) I don't see why in the original recipe the kale was blanched before the rest and feel like many of the beneficial nutrients were washed right down the drain. It seems to simply be a time-wasting extra step. If I make this again I will likely cook the kale right in the soup pot...not worrying about the green color that might result. I simmered the soup with these additions for about 45 minutes which allowed the soup to thicken up perfectly. Finally, to each serving I gave the option of a splash of cream...which I would HIGHLY recommend. There's the 5 stars I was hoping for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was quite easy to make and was very tasty. I don't own a pressure cooker but used the package directions for the white beans and it turned out perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Sooooooo yummy! Linguica is hard to come by in the South, so I used turkey kielbasa instead (Trader J's). I used canned beans (with liquid) and added more chicken broth (3 cans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimkim
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up my kale, and this one was perfect. I used a mixed bag of beans and followed its package cooking directions (bring to a boil and simmer beans with the meat for 2hours and 30 mins) because I do not have a pressure cooker. Used a regular med onion, 1/2 pound smoked sausage and half of a bunch of Kale, and left out the hot sauce. This dish was amazing with very earthy flavors even my 6 year old loved it (when given goldfish crackers to eat with it :P).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimkim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious! My husband and I love this recipe, and have made it more than once... Tonight, however, my husband suggested that we try slicing/ dicing some radish into it. Before letting the soup simmer the final 20 minutes (15, then 4 with kale), we tossed in radishes cut into assorted sizes. The thinner slices became softer and translucent, while the diced chunks remained crispy. It added a wonderful flavor and texture variation to an already-wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Instead of linguica, I used chourico (spicy Portuguese sausage) which gives the soup the added kick and enhances the flavor without adding hot sauce. You will need to remove the casing before slicing the chourico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I couldn't find the linguica sausage in my area so I just used beef smoked sausage and some extra hot sauce. Simple but very good and packed full of flavor. I grew up on bean soups and this one brought back great memories. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Simple and great recipe! I didn't have time to soak beans so I used a can of white bean and poured the liquid from the can into the soup. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboy Mark
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was outstanding! A truly Portuguese dish. I added one sliced zucchini and a can of diced roasted garlic tomatoes, also used one can of black beans and one can of Cannellini beans instead. I will try to make this every week. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!The kale really does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I had white beans in my freezer and wanted the space and I settled on using them in soup. They were already cooked so I just took the recipe from there. My only change was to use fresh beet greens for the kale. I had just brought them from the Farmers MArket and hated to waste them. This was hearty, soothing and very tasty and made a quick dinner. Thanks Always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States