Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was quite easy to make and was very tasty. I don't own a pressure cooker but used the package directions for the white beans and it turned out perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimkim
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up my kale, and this one was perfect. I used a mixed bag of beans and followed its package cooking directions (bring to a boil and simmer beans with the meat for 2hours and 30 mins) because I do not have a pressure cooker. Used a regular med onion, 1/2 pound smoked sausage and half of a bunch of Kale, and left out the hot sauce. This dish was amazing with very earthy flavors even my 6 year old loved it (when given goldfish crackers to eat with it :P).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimkim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent! I don't have a pressure cooker so I soaked and cooked beans per package direction. Only other change was to use turkey linguica to save some fat and calories, but there's still enough flavor in there to make a lovely broth. Very flavorful and satisfying soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Yummy! This may be the best way I have ever prepared kale. I used one 15 oz. can of navy beans and the liquid instead of the dry beans and it turned out just fine. I had a little difficulty slicing raw sausage, but I don't care - it tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious! My husband and I love this recipe, and have made it more than once... Tonight, however, my husband suggested that we try slicing/ dicing some radish into it. Before letting the soup simmer the final 20 minutes (15, then 4 with kale), we tossed in radishes cut into assorted sizes. The thinner slices became softer and translucent, while the diced chunks remained crispy. It added a wonderful flavor and texture variation to an already-wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I had white beans in my freezer and wanted the space and I settled on using them in soup. They were already cooked so I just took the recipe from there. My only change was to use fresh beet greens for the kale. I had just brought them from the Farmers MArket and hated to waste them. This was hearty, soothing and very tasty and made a quick dinner. Thanks Always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Simple and great recipe! I didn't have time to soak beans so I used a can of white bean and poured the liquid from the can into the soup. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Sooooooo yummy! Linguica is hard to come by in the South, so I used turkey kielbasa instead (Trader J's). I used canned beans (with liquid) and added more chicken broth (3 cans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used turkey sausage and canned beans, and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a great soup. This is one of our winter favs. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States