Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was quite easy to make and was very tasty. I don't own a pressure cooker but used the package directions for the white beans and it turned out perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimkim
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up my kale, and this one was perfect. I used a mixed bag of beans and followed its package cooking directions (bring to a boil and simmer beans with the meat for 2hours and 30 mins) because I do not have a pressure cooker. Used a regular med onion, 1/2 pound smoked sausage and half of a bunch of Kale, and left out the hot sauce. This dish was amazing with very earthy flavors even my 6 year old loved it (when given goldfish crackers to eat with it :P).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimkim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent! I don't have a pressure cooker so I soaked and cooked beans per package direction. Only other change was to use turkey linguica to save some fat and calories, but there's still enough flavor in there to make a lovely broth. Very flavorful and satisfying soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Yummy! This may be the best way I have ever prepared kale. I used one 15 oz. can of navy beans and the liquid instead of the dry beans and it turned out just fine. I had a little difficulty slicing raw sausage, but I don't care - it tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious! My husband and I love this recipe, and have made it more than once... Tonight, however, my husband suggested that we try slicing/ dicing some radish into it. Before letting the soup simmer the final 20 minutes (15, then 4 with kale), we tossed in radishes cut into assorted sizes. The thinner slices became softer and translucent, while the diced chunks remained crispy. It added a wonderful flavor and texture variation to an already-wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I had white beans in my freezer and wanted the space and I settled on using them in soup. They were already cooked so I just took the recipe from there. My only change was to use fresh beet greens for the kale. I had just brought them from the Farmers MArket and hated to waste them. This was hearty, soothing and very tasty and made a quick dinner. Thanks Always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Simple and great recipe! I didn't have time to soak beans so I used a can of white bean and poured the liquid from the can into the soup. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Sooooooo yummy! Linguica is hard to come by in the South, so I used turkey kielbasa instead (Trader J's). I used canned beans (with liquid) and added more chicken broth (3 cans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used turkey sausage and canned beans, and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a great soup. This is one of our winter favs. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States