Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This soup is very Portuguese in style. If linguica is not available just substitute any smoked sausage for a similar result. Finely shredded couve, the typical Portuguese kale, would make this a very authentic Portuguese soup. Use piri piri hot sauce to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I couldn't find the linguica sausage in my area so I just used beef smoked sausage and some extra hot sauce. Simple but very good and packed full of flavor. I grew up on bean soups and this one brought back great memories. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Good winter soup. A spicer sausage might be better. Or maybe a bit more hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is pretty good, but bland. I felt like it needed something to pep it up, but not sure what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a great soup. This is one of our winter favs. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used turkey sausage and canned beans, and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Sooooooo yummy! Linguica is hard to come by in the South, so I used turkey kielbasa instead (Trader J's). I used canned beans (with liquid) and added more chicken broth (3 cans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Simple and great recipe! I didn't have time to soak beans so I used a can of white bean and poured the liquid from the can into the soup. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I had white beans in my freezer and wanted the space and I settled on using them in soup. They were already cooked so I just took the recipe from there. My only change was to use fresh beet greens for the kale. I had just brought them from the Farmers MArket and hated to waste them. This was hearty, soothing and very tasty and made a quick dinner. Thanks Always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious! My husband and I love this recipe, and have made it more than once... Tonight, however, my husband suggested that we try slicing/ dicing some radish into it. Before letting the soup simmer the final 20 minutes (15, then 4 with kale), we tossed in radishes cut into assorted sizes. The thinner slices became softer and translucent, while the diced chunks remained crispy. It added a wonderful flavor and texture variation to an already-wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States