Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe but needs clarification as to cook time and fill amount. I followed the recipe exactly and these are my findings: 1) FILL AMOUNT: Very hard to fill 60 half jalapenos without knowing how much to fill them. My advice would be to fill them so they're more than filled flat but don't try to hump the filling to reconstruct the size of the original jalapeno. A gentle arc over the top for each one will fill them all. First time I had too much filling; second time I had too little. 2) COOK TIME: The bacon needs far more than 20 minute (like 45 here) to crisp. Basically after that time I took them out but they were still soggy on one side. I honestly think you need to turn these to get the bacon crisp. I used a large turkey size roasting pan wrapped in foil, and a flat rack sitting on top, so the bacon grease would drain. You DO NOT want the poppers lying around in the bacon fat or they will not bake, they will attempt to fry and won't get hot enough to do so. Even on a rack, bacon remained soggy. I wonder if I should have used higher heat. Also, with this arrangement I still needed to cook these in two batches. I used "thick" bacon. I used "breakfast sausage," locally made, and in a plastic tube, singly wrapped (ie., no casing). I used fairly large sized jalapenos. SUMMARY: Once you have figured out the cook time and fill level, you will have an excellent jalapeno popper. Feeds an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
me and my husband love this recipe wont change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were a hit at our swim party. I did pre-cook the bacon in the microwave then finished it up in the oven. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Love this recipe but I do agree with others that you should cook your bacon slightly before. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
OMG!!! is all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I read alot of recipes with sausage so I gave it a try and thought it was awful. I am used to the Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers that use bacon and a breading. Bacon bits (the real kind) are SO MUCH better than sausage. I will stick with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
They were good, but not what I expected from reading the reviews. I agree about the amount of bacon called for, I had to buy more than one pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These are wonderful!!! I have made these several times and I have taken the suggestions of the other reviews. I have found the best way to clean and de-seed the peppers is to use a melon baller and for me this is the easiest way to prep the peppers. I have also added some cayenne pepper to the cream cheese and sausage mixture. I also pre-cook the microwave for just a few minutes prior to wrapping the peppers. I have also drizzled honey over the peppers prior to baking in the oven and have always received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Tasty, but a little messy for entertaining groups of people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I love this recipe. The peppers are not too spicy for the kids with the yummy cream cheese inside. Definitely use 1/2 slices of bacon (1/3 if very fatty) so the bacon flavor won't overpower the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States