Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I made these at a family gathering, and they were AWESOME! Even the little kids loved them. A few tips: they're delicious grilled, but if you bake them, be sure to use a broiler pan or a rack. Boil or partially cook the bacon first, and broil at the end for a few minutes to crisp it up, if necessary. Where gloves through the whole process (my 13 year old was pinching off bits of the raw sausage for me to stuff the peppers, and got completely oogied out by the slimy feeling.) To keep them as mild as possible, but with great flavor, make sure you completely remove ALL the seeds and the ribs. A pretty time-consuming appetizer, but totally worth it. YUMMO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love this appetizer. They always go so fast. Make sure to wear gloves as your hands will burn for hours. I like to cut the bacon long ways to make sure it wraps around it. This last time s just cut them down the middle and laid them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made these two nights in a row. The fist night was for a BBQ, the next night just for my family. I used onion and chive flavored cream cheese and barbequed them on medium-low until the bacon was crispy. I also used whole slices bacon. They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very good recipe as it is. I have also made this with a few changes-- sour cream instead of cream cheese makes it more savory than sweet, added pepper jack cheese, white cheddar and sharp cheddar into the sausage mix. Added cayenne, cajun, onion powder & minced garlic for more spicy pop. Also wrapped in one whole slice of hickory smoked bacon intead of half & baked on a rack so that they don't sit in juices and get soggy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJeanettic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made these my last Cinco de Mayo party and they were gone before any other appetizers. Many requests for them. Will be making again this year. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe twice and it was recommended by my son. These were made while camping using indirect heat on our BBQ grill. I cooked them on aluminum pans so no clean up. These did take longer than the 60 minutes but the second time I prepped the jalapeños at home. I used hot Chorizo from my favorite butcher and it was not hot at all. The next time I make these, I will precook the bacon so it will crisp a little faster. No one in camp was disappointed from the youngest 8 year old to us older folks. I will definitely make these again using one of the previous tips by precooking the bacon a little before wrapping just to help crisp the bacon. Thanks for the recipe it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Love these! I made these for the super bowl..all gone! Wear gloves and keep submerged in water while scooping out the seeds. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were ok. My family ate some of them, but a lot were left over. Very good advice about wearing gloves when getting the seeds out of the jalapenos, and doing so under water. My daughter was the one cutting and cleaning them without gloves. Poor baby looked like she was sprayed with pepper spray for hours. Both of our hands were also burning for hours. So not worth the end result imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These were a huge hit at our New Years Party. Contrary to what others say I found these very easy to make and it took little time. The longest part is cleaning the peppers. Be sure to where gloves and clean out all those seeds. This are yummy and I will make again. I did add a small bit of cheddar cheese at the bottom of a few of the peppers before putting in the stuffing mix and instead of wrapping them with bacon, I just topped them with a small slice of bacon and let the bacon brown on top,. Yummy indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These turned out GREAT!!! I made them for a party my wife I were invited to where we didn't know very many people. I made a lot of new friends by sharing the recipe! I followed a few tips from other posters that helped: I cleaned the jalapenos under water in a dish, I microwaved the bacon to get it started, I put a touch of honey on the bacon as well (you could taste the touch of sweetness), and I broiled the poppers for 5 minutes after the suggested 20 minutes of cook time, which made my bacon a bit crisper and gave a better presentation. Some advice though, be careful washing any dishes the jalapenos touch. The next day I washed the bowl (without gloves) that I cleaned them in and my hands burned for over an hour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States