Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe twice and it was recommended by my son. These were made while camping using indirect heat on our BBQ grill. I cooked them on aluminum pans so no clean up. These did take longer than the 60 minutes but the second time I prepped the jalapeños at home. I used hot Chorizo from my favorite butcher and it was not hot at all. The next time I make these, I will precook the bacon so it will crisp a little faster. No one in camp was disappointed from the youngest 8 year old to us older folks. I will definitely make these again using one of the previous tips by precooking the bacon a little before wrapping just to help crisp the bacon. Thanks for the recipe it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Love these! I made these for the super bowl..all gone! Wear gloves and keep submerged in water while scooping out the seeds. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were ok. My family ate some of them, but a lot were left over. Very good advice about wearing gloves when getting the seeds out of the jalapenos, and doing so under water. My daughter was the one cutting and cleaning them without gloves. Poor baby looked like she was sprayed with pepper spray for hours. Both of our hands were also burning for hours. So not worth the end result imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These were a huge hit at our New Years Party. Contrary to what others say I found these very easy to make and it took little time. The longest part is cleaning the peppers. Be sure to where gloves and clean out all those seeds. This are yummy and I will make again. I did add a small bit of cheddar cheese at the bottom of a few of the peppers before putting in the stuffing mix and instead of wrapping them with bacon, I just topped them with a small slice of bacon and let the bacon brown on top,. Yummy indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These turned out GREAT!!! I made them for a party my wife I were invited to where we didn't know very many people. I made a lot of new friends by sharing the recipe! I followed a few tips from other posters that helped: I cleaned the jalapenos under water in a dish, I microwaved the bacon to get it started, I put a touch of honey on the bacon as well (you could taste the touch of sweetness), and I broiled the poppers for 5 minutes after the suggested 20 minutes of cook time, which made my bacon a bit crisper and gave a better presentation. Some advice though, be careful washing any dishes the jalapenos touch. The next day I washed the bowl (without gloves) that I cleaned them in and my hands burned for over an hour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am making these wonderful poppers as I write this. I go to a neighborhood bar on the weekends to watch football. About a year ago I brought these poppers and WOW what a response. These and my banana cupcakes are the most requested things that I make. When I get there at about 3:00 today it will be standing room only. The owner of the bar lets me bring them (even though he has a kitchen and serves "bar food") because they are so popular and he does a ton of business because I bring good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this yesterday it was a hit with the family. I did precook bacon in microwave as suggested and that caused shrinkage so I cut the bacon in half and placed over the top. Worked great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I have made this recipe a ton of times and everyone loves it! I also struggled with soft bacon so I kept tweaking it. I do not wrap them in bacon anymore. Instead, while they are cooking I fry and crumble the bacon. I grate 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese into a bowl and then add the (cooled) bacon. The last five minutes of baking I add the cheese and bacon mixture to the top of the peppers and broil for a few minutes. This is the best way I have found to get the crunch of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I pretty much followed this recipe just used a little less cream cheese. Also I happened to find jalapeno bacon at food lion. It made the flavor explode!!! They were amazing. Everybody loved them. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
his weekend I went on a quest to find the perfect popper. I cooked up several different batches for a party and this was the favorite stuffing. The sausage gives the filling a firmer texture and a delicious taste! I did some of these in the oven and some on the BBQ. I high recommend the BBQed version! The BBQ gives the bacon a delicious flavor and really makes these “pop”!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States