Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have been making these for years! They are excellent.We call them Armadillo Eggs because we use a whole slice of bacon to wrap them, and when they cook down in the oven the look like egg shaped armadillo shells, lol. Also have found at my parties that the guys love to pile these on a burger! The nice thing is if you are making them for people who can't handle jalapenos, you can substitute any kind of peppers. I have used banana peppers, goat horns, anahiems, pablanos, anything. The pablanos are hotter than a bell pepper but not a great deal, they are much larger, we have made them as an entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anmoore, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have been making this for years, Except I make a lowfat version. Use Honeysuckle White Breakfast Turkey Sausage (comes in rolls) and Fat Free Cream Cheese. And the lowest fat bacon (but real bacon) that you can find. It comes out better, I think and you don't feel so guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
So Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Everyone loves them! I cannot make enough!! Two things I do is only add half the sausage and bake them on a rack. The rack allows the bacon grease to drop down and the bacon to cook better all the way around instead of becoming greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Riegel, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel Ernstmann
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These get consumed so fast I'm not sure I've even tried one! After running out of bacon, I put the remaining spread in a bowl and stuck halved jalapeño shells in as dippers-for those that like it really hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Ernstmann
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I make a version of this but I use Jimmy Dean hot sausage, chop it up in skillet as it is browning, I mix the cream cheese and add 1/2 pack of real bacon bits instead of wrapping it with bacon. I don't like them real hot so I also scrape the white membrane from the pepper under cold water. Once you start eating these you will not want to stop until they are all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was fantastic. Very huge hit at the party. I listened to others and brushed honey all over the bacon as well as microwaved the bacon for a min. Awesome dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Alot of work but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoominbuggy
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Awesome Poppers! make them all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was so good. I used the precooked bacon which worked out great and made it so much quicker to prepare. This was a favorite for my friend. Keep in mind you much use gloves when preparing peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryann

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States