Sausage Hash With Apples & Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Yummy! I omitted the sage & parsley and added fresh basil instead. I also put an egg (over easy) on top of each serving. The runny yolk added an extra depth of flavor to this already tasty dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
very good! I like to put it in cooked acorn squash - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I found this recipe using the ingredient search for hot sausage. Next time I will use 1/2 hot sausage and 1/2 mild just for personal taste. 3 out of 5 of my family LOVED the spicyness ... us other 2 wimps are the ones requesting the mix of mild. Very good. The ketchup sauce truly makes the dish. I served it with poached eggs on top and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used mild italian sausage. Poultry seasoning, instead of sage or thyme, because that's what I had on hand. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This had great flavor! I used equal amounts of Dijon and ketchup because I'm a fan of the mustard flavor. I also added a dash of maple syrup to make it a little more savory. My husband and I both loved it. I think this sauce would also go great on chicken breasts or roasted vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This is outstanding! I made it using Spicy Bratwurst ("Cajun" flavor, the package said) - omitted sage & thyme because (1) I didn't figure it needed additional spice with the seasonings in the brats and (2) I don't particularly care for sage & thyme. I also thought I wouldn't need to add the ketchup and mustard; but after tasting a potato, decided that was just what it needed instead of just adding salt. My, oh my, the results were great - and I plan to make this a permanent recipe in my recipe binder. Thanks, Pam, for this adaptable recipe! (Bell pepper might be an addition to the next batch... and my husband is planning to enjoy the leftovers in tortillas with cheese for burritos.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
My husband loved this. I did think the recipe was written weird though, first it says heat the oil in the pan so the potatoes don't stick, but you don't add the potatoes then you add the sausage and onion. Then for the sauce it calls for oil in the recipe list, but for water in the directions (I used water). Still it was good. As far as a pound of potatoes and half a pound of apples, I just used 3 potatoes and 2 green apples. It definitely took longer to cook the potatoes, which totally stuck to the bottom of the pan, but my husband loved it so 5 stars none the less. Will be making again. Oh no fresh parsly, only had dried, and worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I used sweet potatoes with this and it turned out really well. I also used mild breakfast sausage, but will try some hot sausage next time because I think it would be a delicious combination with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is tasty =). I honestly wasn't so sure about the sauce, but it really brought it together. It's not terribly pretty, but then, how many pretty hash recipes have you seen? I used beer brats and cooked the potatoes much longer than the recipe said...didn't want tough potatoes. Anyway, thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Edible. My husband said it should get 4 maybe 5 stars. He really liked it. I would have given it 1 star. I compromised and gave it 3 stars. I didn't care for the sauce. I liked the apples/potato/sausage/sage combination though. I will keep that but experiment with other sauces though. Using butter instead of oil would probably make a huge improvement on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States