Sausage Hash With Apples & Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This is outstanding! I made it using Spicy Bratwurst ("Cajun" flavor, the package said) - omitted sage & thyme because (1) I didn't figure it needed additional spice with the seasonings in the brats and (2) I don't particularly care for sage & thyme. I also thought I wouldn't need to add the ketchup and mustard; but after tasting a potato, decided that was just what it needed instead of just adding salt. My, oh my, the results were great - and I plan to make this a permanent recipe in my recipe binder. Thanks, Pam, for this adaptable recipe! (Bell pepper might be an addition to the next batch... and my husband is planning to enjoy the leftovers in tortillas with cheese for burritos.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Normally something like this is right up my alley as I love sweet/savory combos. Nobody in our home liked this. It was very sausage-heavy (could have been better with half the sausage) and was greasy, even after draining the sausage. The sauce was better than I expected, but it was a dry hash. We ate this with over-easy eggs and, like a previous commenter, I found that the yolk added a LOT to this.. All the individual elements would have come together much better if there was more of a sauce to bind it. As is, I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Yummy! I omitted the sage & parsley and added fresh basil instead. I also put an egg (over easy) on top of each serving. The runny yolk added an extra depth of flavor to this already tasty dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
My husband loved this. I did think the recipe was written weird though, first it says heat the oil in the pan so the potatoes don't stick, but you don't add the potatoes then you add the sausage and onion. Then for the sauce it calls for oil in the recipe list, but for water in the directions (I used water). Still it was good. As far as a pound of potatoes and half a pound of apples, I just used 3 potatoes and 2 green apples. It definitely took longer to cook the potatoes, which totally stuck to the bottom of the pan, but my husband loved it so 5 stars none the less. Will be making again. Oh no fresh parsly, only had dried, and worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used mild italian sausage. Poultry seasoning, instead of sage or thyme, because that's what I had on hand. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I didn't care for this at all and hubby (the potato and ketchup lover) thought is was just OK. I think this recipe was written assuming you would be preparing in advance. I used two skillets - one for the potatoes and I cooked the sausage, apple and onions in the other. Once the potatoes were crisp I combined the two and mixed in the ketchup, mustard and water sauce. Actually, I think it was the sauce that ruined this for us. One reviewer pointed out that the recipe calls for an additional 2 T. of oil - that oil would be used to coat the potatoes prior to cooking - by using two skillets I was able to omit that oil. None the less, I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
very good! I like to put it in cooked acorn squash - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Edible. My husband said it should get 4 maybe 5 stars. He really liked it. I would have given it 1 star. I compromised and gave it 3 stars. I didn't care for the sauce. I liked the apples/potato/sausage/sage combination though. I will keep that but experiment with other sauces though. Using butter instead of oil would probably make a huge improvement on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This had great flavor! I used equal amounts of Dijon and ketchup because I'm a fan of the mustard flavor. I also added a dash of maple syrup to make it a little more savory. My husband and I both loved it. I think this sauce would also go great on chicken breasts or roasted vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I used sweet potatoes with this and it turned out really well. I also used mild breakfast sausage, but will try some hot sausage next time because I think it would be a delicious combination with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States