Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Very simple to make. The first night I thought it was a little bland so I would have only rated it with three stars. Luckily I had the left overs for lunch the next day. What a differnce that made! The sausage flavor had time to really blend with the gravy to make a wonderful meal. Next time I will simmer the gravy longer before serving to give it the extra flavor it really needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is your basic sausage gravy. After trying several recipes from this site, our favorite gravy recipe is the "Country Sausage Gravy". It is loaded with flavor!! I did add garlic and onion powder, as well as a bit of dried herb seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is really good, but SO much better if it has the chance to sit overnight. When it's first done the flour is very easy to taste, but the next day all of the flavors have blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Yep, this is it! I never had this growing up - this is something I learned about after meeting my (Texan) in-laws... and I was an instant fan. I giggled when I read the "you can add some sausage back in" instructions because I always make this with at LEAST half a pound of sausage in the gravy. Chunky is better! I know some recipes call for sage sausage, and even though I have a love affair with maple sausage, I wouldn't use anything but plain for gravy. Just too darn good to mess around with it! If you're looking for a biscuit recipe to go with, try Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits here. Not fancy, just delicious and easy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Easiest sausage gravy, great with biscuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harper Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I did the bacon version after cooking some bacon....it turned out great! The bits from the pan made it color up really nice. I put cayenne pepper in with the roux, I think it helps with the flour taste. I've also heard that cooking the roux for at least the five minutes is important to not get the flour taste. Probably why grandma burnt hers a bit on purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I am new to cooking and this was very simple to fix. It was fantastic. I mixed the crumbled sausage in with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I wanted to make this for my husband even though it was something I had never liked. I followed this recipe but added the butter from "Bob's" recipe and it was wonderful. Even I liked it! :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had never made this before because I thought it would be too complicated, however, it was so easy to make. My husband liked it a lot. I added some cayenne pepper to make it a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a very good simple recipe, but seasoning is wholly dependent on sausage used, which is fine, just make sure the stuff you use is good or it may be a bit blend. Always use local meat shop breakfast sausage and it comes out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States