Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Good basic idea, though I did make a small addition. I sauted some yellow onion in the "fat" before making my roux. I also added black pepper as a reviewer before me suggested. All in all, very yummy! Great on mashed potatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday breakfast. First time at ever making "biscuits and gravy" and I have to admit, I had to do some research because I couldn't understand the whole concept of a biscuit with just gravy on it. But I made it because my husband loves this breakfast. He thought it was very, very good. Five stars! I did crumble some sausage in with it and added some pepper. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Good recipe and tasty results. We make sure to use the same pan that we fried the sausage in and each batch is different on how much flour and how much milk. For us, it is a must to use black pepper also. You can also use bacon/bacon grease as well. This is good country cooking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is really good, but SO much better if it has the chance to sit overnight. When it's first done the flour is very easy to taste, but the next day all of the flavors have blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was really simple. I used bacon and served over toast. I recommend adding the cooked meat to the gravy. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This is the recipe I use and it is very good. You need to season to taste with salt and pepper I also use accent and that really brings out the flavor. Good hearty breakfast or for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I am new to cooking and this was very simple to fix. It was fantastic. I mixed the crumbled sausage in with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had never made this before because I thought it would be too complicated, however, it was so easy to make. My husband liked it a lot. I added some cayenne pepper to make it a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This recipe is something I have been looking for and very happy I found and tried. It was delicious and very easy to make. My husband also enjoyed it. Thank you! Pam Federico
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMA56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe for bacon gravy. Very delicious, thanks for the entry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States