Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very easy. I used turkey sausage, and added a little pepper. My kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rettable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I love this website, and i get wonderful results from everything i try.I knew one day i would come across a bad one...THIS ONE IS IT!..What a floury muck. It was a tasteless goo. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyinmytummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
For more favor try cooking the gravy in the pan with the sauage. This is a great base to start with. I break up my sauage into small pieces, cook in a 2 qt. sauce pan stirring often. When it gets a little brown I add a tablespoon of butter and my flour. Cook this, stirring constantly. Once it starts to get brown I add my milk, stir until it is thickened the way I want it. If your gravy gets too thick, add a little more milk or water to thin it. Just remember a sauce or gray made with flour will continue to thicken after you quit cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby24019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
loved it! i was making in smaller portions for the two of us so i used a couple of chopped links for each of us(bought in bulk then portioned and put in freezer). i added a bit of butter to sausage fat to stretch it a bit and a touch of pepper to it as it thickened. i thought it was the perfect breakfast with Nancy Horsburg's Fluffy Biscuit recipe and a fried egg. :o) (I made the gravy once with maple sausage and boyfriend preferred it, though i thought it was odd.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuznic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
5 stars for ease, 3 for taste. Given this was my first attempt at homemade Biscuits & Gravy, I thought it was super easyto make. Flavor wise, it was kind of bland at first even though I did let it simmer while I made the biscuits so it would have time to marry all the flavors, but it was still a bit bland for my taste though my husband said it was great. The left overs the next day though were awesome. I might try cooking it the day before and then reheating and see what kind of results I get then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I ADDED PARSLEY AND GARLIC POWDER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a very good basic gravy! I added salt and pepper to taste and used crumbled roasted bell pepper and caramelized onion sausage in it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is your basic sausage gravy. After trying several recipes from this site, our favorite gravy recipe is the "Country Sausage Gravy". It is loaded with flavor!! I did add garlic and onion powder, as well as a bit of dried herb seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Made this today for our church Mens breakfast and it was a huge hit. Made servings for 30. Took awhile but it worked,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I use turkey sausage instead of pork so there's very little grease in the pan, so i used butter. it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States