Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Made this way it was almost bland. After I added some salt and a tablespoon of fresh cracked pepper it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Turned out Perfect, for a Guy it made look good to my visiting Company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious! Added salt and pepper. I've never been good at making gravy, but this one came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love, love, love this recipe. I was worried the first time I made it because of cooking the roux so long (it seemed like it was sticking to the bottom of the pan more than I would have liked), but the end result was a wonderful flavor I've never gotten from other sausage gravy recipes. It's also very versatile, and while I do often add additional seasoning just to go with what I'm feeling like, it's just as good when I make it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
awesome base...i added onion powder, garlic and black pepper...and because i used maple sausage, i added a tablespoon of maple syrup....put the whole mix over fried potatoes...my husband said "it's good enough to go over ice cream" ha ha ha...that's my hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenney2kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Just what I was looking for! It is better if it sits a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy to make, I used a pound of our "home-grown" sausage we put up last month (because it was not too fatty I had to add a tablespoon of vegetable shortening to the roux) - I heated my milk in the microwave so that it was hot when I poured it into the roux. I added very little salt and about a 1/4 tsp of freshly ground pepper. It was very good. I imagine it would be even better if left to sit overnight for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i added 1/4 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp sage and 1/2 tsp thyme good and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe was great!! it was simple and my boyfriend loved it!! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I tasted this while cooking and thought it needed at least a little extra seasoning...I added freshly ground black pepper and some dried crumbled sage. Skipped a step to make this even easier and just drained the grease off the sausage, leaving about 1 tblsp in the skillet. Then sprinkled a good heaping tblsp of flour over the meat and combined well, cooking for a minute or so. Then added the milk (didn't measure, just kept adding until the thickness was right.) Served this over thick slices of buttered french bread that I toasted under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States