Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I had never made this before and it was pretty good. I think I could make it great by using a more flavorful sausage. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Don't need to try! Been making it about the same for 40 years. I now add part like maybe 1/4 water then 3/4 milk. I cover the meat and just a little higher with the liquid. I use 2 heaping tablespoons flour per lb of sausage. I always add all the meat in to the gravy. This is sooooo good! Today I add some red pepper flakes to it. My mother in law told me if you like it dark in color to just add a 1/4 teaspoon of instant coffee. That does work but I never cared if it was dark or not. Its fabulous just on toast. Been great for 40 years and many many people beg me to bring it to camp. Its a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to make something close to my Great-Grandma's sausage gravy, and this was just the ticket - so close, it was like I was a kid in my grandma's kitchen again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Basic sausage gravy. Definitely make sure you cook the roux 5 minutes or more. I didn't use all the milk. It turned out fine. I used mild breakfast sausage. After tasting I added some black pepper, onion powder and hot pepper sauce. We served over toast, and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by kvincent
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It's all about the roux people! Take your time and do it right (like gumbo, the roux should be the color of am old penny) amd you don't need amything else, not even a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
It was good thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
My hubby said I used the wrong brand of sausage but other than that it was a hit. I used whole milk & added salt & pepper to taste. Thank you so much for this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Fantastic! This is my go to Sausage Gravy. Like others I added salt and pepper and because my hubby really likes it spicy I add crushed red pepper. I also use Jimmy Dean Hot Pork Sausage. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! Only i didn't read it well the first time I made it. I threw ALL of the sausage in the gravy. I served it to my husband and a few friends and was thrilled to hear they loved it! They said it was better then any restaurant they had ever eaten it at! "All that sausage!!!! " was the response. they said the restaurants never put enough sausage in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States