Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! This was perfect with Chef John's biscuits. Wonderful breakfast! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Best comfort food ever! I used bacon grease instead of margarine. Took too long to thicken so I ended up adding a bit of cornstarch slurry...next time maybe a hair more flour and a hair less milk. Added some ground sage during the salt and pepper part of the process. And couldn't help myself...added a medium onion at the very beginning! Can't wait for leftovers before work tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe and so easy. I had to drain some of the grease due to my sausage brand made a lot but I added the margarine and a little more than the 1/4 cup flour, I cook it for a few minutes and then added 3 cups milks and brought it to a slight boil, stirring constantly and then lowered my heat. It thickened perfectly. It was outstanding!! Thank you for this recipe, it will be one I use from now on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The first time I had true, homemade southern biscuits and gravy was when my husband's Granny made it for us - before I found out I had Celiac. I just made this for my husband and I, and it's the best biscuits and gravy either of us have had.... and that's sayin' something bc my husband LOVES his granny's recipe. The texture, thickness, and flavors were spot on. We used Jimmy Dean's "all natural" sausage (only one I could find without MSG - something we're both allergic to), and Gillian's Wheat Free, Dairy Free french rolls. Added two more tablespoons of margarine because the meat was very, very lean, but it turned out perfectly. Recommend this to any and all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
not bad. but i skipped the margarine and went for the good stuff....bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Best sausage gravy ever! My picky granddaughter loves this and asks for seconds every time. I have had to double it because everyone wants leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this using 1% milk. I like a thicker gravy, so I used only 3 cups and 3 tbsp of corn starch with water. It was very thick like this. And good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Excellent and so easy. My picky, sausage-and-biscuits-loving husband highly approved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe, it is the same way i've been making B&G my whole life, except for the way you mix in the flour, mixing in the flour this way is great. I used to struggle to make lump free gravy. love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I don't eat biscuits and gravy but my brother does. Said he wasn't use to all the meat but it didn't disturb him any. Had more the next day. I'm a fan because it was easy and pleased my brother. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States