Sausage Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
First time I ever made this it was good. I just want to know how to overcome the flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I've only had biscuits and gravy a few times, and it's never wowed me, but this gravy was pretty darned good. I'm not sure, but it might also be the first time I've ever made gravy from scratch. I made it exactly as written, using a white onion, exactly 1 tsp. garlic powder, and 1 cup of milk. I also shook on some salt and ground white pepper, but the results tasted a little too salty/peppery; maybe the sausage already had these ingredients, so I'd omit them next time. One thing I definitely noticed was that the gravy thickened up very quickly and was not very liquid at all; that's why so many reviewers have said that more milk is needed. Still, I had this for 2 consecutive breakfasts, served over a package of ready-to-bake refrigerated homestyle biscuits, and enjoyed it a lot. I'll probably make this again soon, and I do recommend the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
It was good, defiantly needed more milk to thin out the gravy. Replace the parsley with sage and it tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4n20blackbirds
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I wasn't happy with this recipe. For one, it needs more milk. The correct ratio is 1/4 cup flour to 3, or 3-1/2 cups milk. The onion, garlic and parsley are odd pairings for a milk gravy; so in my second try I left these out and added 1/4 teaspoon ground sage and a dash or two of fine ground white pepper, to boost the sausage flavor. No salt necessary; guests should be allowed to salt according to taste. My personal preferance for sausage is Jimmy Dean Regular flavor in the bulk roll. It works best for sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I didn't use onion, but onion powder. I also added extra milk extra gravy. I also cut back on the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Here is how I make mine: I heat up a store bought frozen garlic loaf of bread in the oven for about 10 minutes. I steam the sausage first then pan fry without the onion. In a separate bowl I wisk together 1 cup milk, 1 tablespoon cornstarch, salt, pepper and dried parseley flakes. When the sausage is almost ready, I pour the milk mixture in and bring to a boil. I serve this over the garlic bread. This has now become the most requested breakfast item in my home, with even a die-hard vegetarian hartily eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Added more milk for extra gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINZN8R

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
simple, quick, easy, tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Awesome! It's pretty yummy! (And those are hubby's exact words.) I used kielbasa too, and fresh minced garlic instead but that was all I changed and it went over big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States