Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love sausage and gravy, I had it recently and fell in love with it, I ask someone to make it all the time now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetmonf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I totally messed up and bought Italian sausage. It was also turkey sausage since that's just what I always buy. I figured what the heck, we'll try the Italian Sausage. I'm glad I did. The flavor, even with all those spices, wasn't overpowering at all. I'm afraid it would have been kind of bland had I used regular sausage. This was really good and thick and rich. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great tasting recipe! Very rich and full of sausage flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is almost the way i grew up eating gravy. U don't need extra grease. U can have bacon gravy, sausage gravy, red eye, whatever. The point is for the gravy to have the flavor of the meat. For a small family I use 1/2 roll of mild country sausage (like Tennessee Pride), brown and crumble in iron skillet, then add "about" 2 large tbsp of flour and a dash of ground black pepper, let that get good and brown (but don't burn it) and turn down your eye to low add milk while stirring. If it's too thick, add more milk and keep stirring on very low heat. You don't want your skillet boiling at any point - you will just end up with a mess. If you want bacon gravy do the same, just heat up 2 tbsp bacon grease and follow the rest. Hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was very good however I prefer to add a clove or two of fresh minced garlic for extra flavor. After reviewing other sausage gravy recipes, I also added butter vs. bacon grease because I didn't have bacon grease. I think the butter gave the gravy an unappealing greasy appearance that sat on the top. I will omit the butter/bacon grease all together next time. Who knew, after all these years that I should be adding the flour directly to the hot grease? I typically would shake flour and water in a small canister before adding because I was always told this prevents lumpy gravy. After making this gravy, I discovered that step was unnecessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My standby sausage gravy recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made this exactly as stated. It was just not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love biscuits and gravy and this gravy is fantastic. Make sure you add the bacon grease and use good sausage. I tried this recipe with the value brand and it kinda sucked. Jimmy Dean all the way! This recipe isn't as fluffy as IHOP's, but it tastes so much better! Oh, and I sometimes double the milk to make more gravy and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
AWESOME GRAVY!!! My husband (who is a sausage gravy snob) said this is the BEST sausage gravy he has ever tasted! Not too salty, not too greasy, just perfect! The second time I made it I used maple flavored sausage, and it was out of this world!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I loved this! I made this for my husband, my 15 yr old son, and his two friends. They all came back for seconds and thirds! I used Jimmy Dean sausage which left almost no grease, so the bacon grease was a must. Also, I added a little more flour because I like a thicker gravy. At the end I felt it needed more flavor (maybe because of the lack of sausage grease, I don't know), so I added some seasoning salt along with fresh ground black pepper. The seasoning salt was the trick. It tasted great! To reheat, just put it back in a pan, add a little milk or cream, and stir. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States