Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I make sausage gravy often but I don't brown the flour mixture, tried browning and just didn't like it as well. I use butter instead of bacon grease. Pour over biscuits and add an egg or two on top for a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that tasted like my mom's and boy have i found it! This is not only simple to make, but wonderful to eat!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was a really good gravy recipe! Instead of pork sausage I used Italian. I made this for my husband's birthday breakfast 3 months ago and he is still talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
An excellent tasting and easy recipe. Great over omelets with hash-browns as well as biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
turned out great! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe. It was my first one to try when I moved into an apartment, and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love sausage and gravy, I had it recently and fell in love with it, I ask someone to make it all the time now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetmonf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I totally messed up and bought Italian sausage. It was also turkey sausage since that's just what I always buy. I figured what the heck, we'll try the Italian Sausage. I'm glad I did. The flavor, even with all those spices, wasn't overpowering at all. I'm afraid it would have been kind of bland had I used regular sausage. This was really good and thick and rich. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great tasting recipe! Very rich and full of sausage flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is almost the way i grew up eating gravy. U don't need extra grease. U can have bacon gravy, sausage gravy, red eye, whatever. The point is for the gravy to have the flavor of the meat. For a small family I use 1/2 roll of mild country sausage (like Tennessee Pride), brown and crumble in iron skillet, then add "about" 2 large tbsp of flour and a dash of ground black pepper, let that get good and brown (but don't burn it) and turn down your eye to low add milk while stirring. If it's too thick, add more milk and keep stirring on very low heat. You don't want your skillet boiling at any point - you will just end up with a mess. If you want bacon gravy do the same, just heat up 2 tbsp bacon grease and follow the rest. Hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States