Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I rated this 5 stars even though I'm one of "those" ppl that add some extra seasonings, etc. This is a great base for standard sausage gravy though! It all depends on what kind of sausage you use as well. I generally use Tennessee Pride Sage flavor in a roll. I remove the cooked sausage and press the grease out through a mesh strainer back into the skillet (cast iron of course). I wind up sauteing a couple Tblsp of minced onion in the grease and cook the flour in that until it's a nice light tan color. I normally only add 1 T of bacon grease to have enough for the roux process. I like to add a bit of thyme, grnd coriander, grated nutmeg and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. I add back in however much of the cooked sausage I'm in the mood for. Sometimes all if it, sometimes only half. Either way I freeze any leftovers and it works alright for me. The recipe as written is good; add more "stuff" if you want a lil more flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
excellent easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love this recipe! I just added 1/2 cup less milk and used 1/4 cup margarine instead for the flavoring. I will be using this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was quite nice, I think my first time ever making sausage gravy. I made it exactly as written (glad I started saving bacon grease recently!). I had it for three breakfasts, over biscuits. It wasn't quite thick enough to start, and I actually liked the reheated leftovers more. Maybe not the best recipe for this, but I did like it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great easy recipe, the only reason I only gave it 4 stars was I did not have bacon grease on hand so I used butter, I think the bacon grease would give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I printed this recipe out years ago and it is the only one I ever use. It's awesome, and my husband raves about it -- and he's had biscuits and gravy in a lot of places!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
it was ok but i used less milk so it was thicker thanks for the recpie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaigeIzDusty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thompson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My husband said, "this was exactly the way it tastes when I order it from a restaurant." However, I had to modify the recipe to get that taste. The gravy was so incredibly thick and rather bland. I added extra bacon grease, extra pepper, and extra milk. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The bacon drippings really add flavor to this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States