Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is exactly the gravy my mom used to make. Thanks for posting this and it's so tasty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
First time ever making and it was fabulous, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Cochran-Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great recipe, my wife and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was great, I can't imagine how amazing it would have been if I had used bacon grease, unfortunately I only had butter. Still delicious though. I made it with the Kentucky biscuits recipe from this site, amazing breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Delicious indulgence. I did add a little thyme, garlic powder, and a tiny bit of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I rated this 5 stars even though I'm one of "those" ppl that add some extra seasonings, etc. This is a great base for standard sausage gravy though! It all depends on what kind of sausage you use as well. I generally use Tennessee Pride Sage flavor in a roll. I remove the cooked sausage and press the grease out through a mesh strainer back into the skillet (cast iron of course). I wind up sauteing a couple Tblsp of minced onion in the grease and cook the flour in that until it's a nice light tan color. I normally only add 1 T of bacon grease to have enough for the roux process. I like to add a bit of thyme, grnd coriander, grated nutmeg and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. I add back in however much of the cooked sausage I'm in the mood for. Sometimes all if it, sometimes only half. Either way I freeze any leftovers and it works alright for me. The recipe as written is good; add more "stuff" if you want a lil more flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
excellent easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love this recipe! I just added 1/2 cup less milk and used 1/4 cup margarine instead for the flavoring. I will be using this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was quite nice, I think my first time ever making sausage gravy. I made it exactly as written (glad I started saving bacon grease recently!). I had it for three breakfasts, over biscuits. It wasn't quite thick enough to start, and I actually liked the reheated leftovers more. Maybe not the best recipe for this, but I did like it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great easy recipe, the only reason I only gave it 4 stars was I did not have bacon grease on hand so I used butter, I think the bacon grease would give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States