Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I used margarine instead of the bacon grease, too, and it turned out good. I added a little more flour while it cooked and simmered for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Made this recipe this morning for my daughter and myself. Very quick and very good. The bacon grease was a little over-powering in the taste though, so I think I'll reduce it down to 2 tbsp. from now on. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Made this for my husband to take to work with JP's biscuits. Fast and easy....I didn't have any bacon grease so I added a little oil to have enough fat to mix with the flour. Cooked it up and threw it in the crockpot so it would stay warm. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Came out delicious. I made this with my homemade biscuits and they loved it. I had to simmer it a lot longer then the recipe called for however to get it to the desired thickness however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian K. Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hedgesville, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good. I didn't have bacon grease, so I used butter as others suggested. Very good flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Simple but excellent. I usually double up and make enough for later in the week. When I do I use 1 lb of mild and 1 lb of hot sausage for that little bit of spicy flavor. I too omit the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
MMMMM! Sausage! MMMMM! Gravy! SO wrong yet sooo tasty SHHH....I think I just heard my arteries hardening some more......and my heart Flutter.....but oh boy is it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I followed the reciepe as is and we love it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
10 stars....awesome. I did not use bacon grease, instead 3 T butter, also added 1/4 t sage and 2 T maple syrup.....plus extra fresh ground pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This recipe was really easy. I didn't have any sausage in the house so I used 1/2 lb. ground beef seasoned with thyme instead. I also didn't use bacon grease...I used margarine instead. Still turned out great over biscuits. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States