Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is almost the way i grew up eating gravy. U don't need extra grease. U can have bacon gravy, sausage gravy, red eye, whatever. The point is for the gravy to have the flavor of the meat. For a small family I use 1/2 roll of mild country sausage (like Tennessee Pride), brown and crumble in iron skillet, then add "about" 2 large tbsp of flour and a dash of ground black pepper, let that get good and brown (but don't burn it) and turn down your eye to low add milk while stirring. If it's too thick, add more milk and keep stirring on very low heat. You don't want your skillet boiling at any point - you will just end up with a mess. If you want bacon gravy do the same, just heat up 2 tbsp bacon grease and follow the rest. Hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was very good however I prefer to add a clove or two of fresh minced garlic for extra flavor. After reviewing other sausage gravy recipes, I also added butter vs. bacon grease because I didn't have bacon grease. I think the butter gave the gravy an unappealing greasy appearance that sat on the top. I will omit the butter/bacon grease all together next time. Who knew, after all these years that I should be adding the flour directly to the hot grease? I typically would shake flour and water in a small canister before adding because I was always told this prevents lumpy gravy. After making this gravy, I discovered that step was unnecessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My standby sausage gravy recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made this exactly as stated. It was just not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love biscuits and gravy and this gravy is fantastic. Make sure you add the bacon grease and use good sausage. I tried this recipe with the value brand and it kinda sucked. Jimmy Dean all the way! This recipe isn't as fluffy as IHOP's, but it tastes so much better! Oh, and I sometimes double the milk to make more gravy and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
AWESOME GRAVY!!! My husband (who is a sausage gravy snob) said this is the BEST sausage gravy he has ever tasted! Not too salty, not too greasy, just perfect! The second time I made it I used maple flavored sausage, and it was out of this world!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I loved this! I made this for my husband, my 15 yr old son, and his two friends. They all came back for seconds and thirds! I used Jimmy Dean sausage which left almost no grease, so the bacon grease was a must. Also, I added a little more flour because I like a thicker gravy. At the end I felt it needed more flavor (maybe because of the lack of sausage grease, I don't know), so I added some seasoning salt along with fresh ground black pepper. The seasoning salt was the trick. It tasted great! To reheat, just put it back in a pan, add a little milk or cream, and stir. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is truly the best sausage gravy around. Taste better than my favorite restaurant. Very tasty and super easy to make! My family loved it. Will use over and over! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janea Perry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Just the taste I had been looking for. The bacon grease really gave it a great smell and taste, and the consistency turned out perfect. This is the best homemade sausage gravy I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Renee Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was surprised how easy this was to make. My husband was impressed, which is all I ask for! He said it could use a little more pepper next time. I did not add the extra grease and we have extra lean sausage and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States