Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delish! I've made "my own" sausage gravy for years by the old throw some flour in with the sausage and then add milk and this is basically what this is. I had never added bacon drippings though. I tripled the recipe and got a little heavy handed with the bacon drippings so though a good gravy, the bacon flavor was more prominent than I'd have liked. Not bad flavor, but not as sausagey. I use Tennesee Pride sausage and it's rather mild so used a good half a palmful of sage and as other readers commented, the sage really added some good flavor. I had some evaporated milk that needed to be used to I threw that in along with my skim milk and it bumped up the creamyness and flavor. All in all, this is a keeper. Hubby enjoyed it for brunch and just came back (it's 7:30 PM) and just grabbed a bowl of it. The rest will go in the freezer for an quick meal another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My favorite sausage gravy recipe of all time! The grease makes all the difference. I added 2 tbs butter and about 1/2 tsp more salt and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
The recipe was good but not the best I've had. I would not add 3 T of bacon grease. 2 T would be enough (maybe even 1 T would be enough). The bacon grease does add to the flavor so don't forget it (butter isn't the same). Also, I would add about 1/4 to 1/2 t. of a spice (thyme, sage (my favorite) or rosemary) or use sage sausage to give it a little more flavor. I also cook my sausage pretty dark as another tester said. This recipe is very easy to make. However, like another tester said, it definitely doesn't make 8 servings--more like 2.5. It is definitely good though. (I needed to add a little more milk to make it less thick.) Sure is easy to make, and the gravy is not lumpy or greasy. (It is definitely all the grease/fat you'll want in a day, but you don't eat biscuits and gravy for health reasons. You eat it for pleasure!) *G* Use Big Daddy's Biscuits with this. You'll love the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Sausage gravy is so simple... This recipe is with a little extra work. Brown the sausage, (really dark) If you can get a few hunks very dark, the better. If you have grease in the bottom of your skillet, do not add bacon grease. I use Oldhams sausage and it is very dry. Add flour and then cook and stir until the flour is turning just tan in color. In the mean time get the bowl you want to serve the gravy in and fill it almost full of milk. When the sausage is ready, turn up the heat and add milk. Stir constantly, until thick. Use a cold spoon and dip it into the gravy and taste it for thickness and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverton, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
after looking through the sausage gray recipes on here I realized they are pretty much the same.. I think it really depends on the kind of sausage you use... this recipe looked well and turned out great... it got great reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just came back from a trip down South and tried this for the first time and I couldnt stop thinking about it! I found this recipe but made a few changes based on reviews, I didnt have bacon fat so I just went without it and it turned out fine. I also added 2 cups of milk instead of three because I like it a little bit thicker, but that means it comes out to less than 8 servings. I added a few dashes of Worcestershire and maple syrup and a dash of sage and it was unbelievable!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I have loved this meal since childhood but have never tried making it myself, until tonight. I recently started saving a little bacon grease in the fridge (keeps very well in a sealed container), so I chose this recipe due to that ingredient. I followed the recipe closely, but did add a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce and a sprinkle of sage along with the salt and pepper. Made refrigerated biscuits this time, for convenience sake. Turned out "Fabulous", to quote my 17yo son. Thanks for sharing, definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This recipe was pretty easy, it was the first time I'd ever made gravy and it turned out pretty perfect. The only problem was that I had to spice it up because it was a little bland. However, it gave me a great base recipe for my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki.gillespie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was my first attempt at sausage gravy and it was exactly what I wanted it to be exactly as it was written. Will be making it again and again. So much easier than I thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States