Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was great! It is just my husband and I, so I cut the recipe in half. My only suggestion for cutting in half is to use a smaller skillet, I had a pretty thin layer of liquid on the bottom of the pan because my skillet was so large. Other than that my husband said this was the BEST sausage gravy he had ever eaten! Thanks Rene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe has been a favorite of our family ever since we first tried it. The bacon grease is a must. We make this recipe at least once a month. Thanks for posting and sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caraleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We've been using this recipe for many generations now and it comes out perfect every time. We also like to top fried pork chops with it. If you can put gravy on it, this one goes with it! It's our all-purpose gravy. Even my northern in-laws who don't eat much gravy, let alone real gravy, love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My family realy enjoyed this recipe, I just added a little more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNICOLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I, born and bred in the south, think most of us with the same heritage have this recipe written in our veins. But for those who do not, then this is the perfect road to take. You can't go wrong. Assuredly, it is heart attack waiting to happen, but if you go while eating this then you are sure to meet St. Peter with a smile on your face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Add 2 T cornstarch to the recipe and S&P to taste/lots Pretty good. I used a roll of JD sausaged. Cooked 2 pieces of bacon with it and left it with the sausage. I had to add a little water while Icooked it. I also, added 2Tcornisharch (1st in cold water) to thicken. It was good. Next time I will serve ocer Biscuits, not toast and use store made sausage. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I added some sage and garlic powder for an extra kick. I halved the recipe and it made plenty! I didn't have any bacon grease, so I used butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was very good and very easy to make - I used only 2 cups of milk and 1/2 lb of sausage to scale it down a bit and it was enough gravy for me and my husband to have it for two breakfasts in a row. Also, I did not have bacon grease so I used 2 tbsp of butter and I did not add any salt (sausage was salty enough for our taste). We made it to go over JP's Big Daddy biscuits (from this site) and it made for a great breakfast. I will never buy the gravy mix from the store again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a hit, easy to make larger for a large group of teens and just easy in general. I made it pretty much as in the recipe (well I never measure anything unless I am baking)but I put my favorite cajun seasoning I put in everything and it added that zip. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States