Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a great recipe for sausage gravy. I do make mine slightly different though. First, I don't add the bacon grease because I feel mine has more than enough. With the sausage in the pan I will add the flour, then the milk and spices. I also really prefer mine with sage sausage to give it a little more flavor. Maple sausage doesn't taste quite right though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I made this to go over J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits and it was sooo good. I didn't use the bacon grease, as my sausage was greasy enough. I added a hefty dose of ground black pepper...it gives the gravy such a good flavor!! Mind didn't reheat well, so next time we'll either eat it all or have to make a smaller batch. Thanks Rene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
It seems almost everyone changes this recipe to fit their own taste and I'm no exception... I have made this exactly as written and also with a few changes. First I'll review this without changes. The first thing I noticed was that this does not make eight servings. If you are making this for biscuits and gravey, the recipe will makes only two servings. I make this for myself using half the recipe and gobble it up myself! Second, it is just a tad bland but can easily be fixed by starting with a sausage with more spice. The changes that I've made are to saute some onions with the sausage and added several dashes of warchestershire sause to give it a little more zip. I also add a little of Jonny's Seasoning Salt. When I have no bacon grease, I use butter instead. I grew up in the South and had biscuits and gravy 'most every morning so I consider myself an expert gravy taster and I give this one five stars. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I made this for my husband today (huge fan of sausage gravy over biscuits from restaurants) and he absolutely LOVED it. Easy to make too. I substituted butter for bacon grease, used skim milk and Italian seasoned pork sausage. Wonderful flavor. Will make again and again! Try J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits with this gravy. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Know I'll sound like a broken record...but this really is THE best! The only gravy I'll ever use from now on for biscuits n' gravy! Made this for my father's birthday brunch. After I prepared it put it in a crockpot to keep it warm and everyone just ladled it out onto hot biscuits. The bacon grease is the secret to the flavor of this gravy. My only change was to add quite a bit of salt and pepper. We love it so much we eat it for a quick supper all the time. We cook frozen biscuits in the oven and cook a bag of shredded hashbrowns while we're making the gravy. (We put the hashbrowns on top of the biscuits then ladle the gravy over all.) Mmmmm, mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I think this is very good. I lived in Tenn. and make my exactly like this only using equal parts of can milk, to equal parts of water. I love it that way, and it is a little richer flavored..has a Bob Evans tastes. My girlfriend use to make her gravy with milk, and she'd say, why don't my gravy tastes like yours? It's the can milk. But both ways are very good. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I have been making this recipe for 5 years now and it is still the best one. I love this recipe. It is so, so good. I wouldn't change anything and I will not use any other sausage gravy recipe. I love to cook and I only keep the really good ones. This is for sure a keeper. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was very good sausage gravy! I used Jimmy Deans sausage which didn't have as much grease as I expected (and I didn't have bacon grease on hand), but it still turned out wonderfully! This gravy actually tasted like sausage, instead of those plain white "gravies" with sausage thrown in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
We make this almost every weekend. Hubby loves Big Daddy Biscuits (from this site) and this gravy just compliments it perfectly. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
YUM! I miss biscuits & gravy, and now I don't have to!! This was close to my mothers recipe (hers is a bit thicker & spicier), next time I too will try the hot sausage. Thanks for sharing Rene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States