Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. My fiance made this and it was his first batch of gravy that he has ever made. I was not at home when he made it. I had left the recipe up on the computer(after making big daddys biscuits) and by the time I came home, wahlah! He had it made! Very simple, very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I used spicy sausage, 1 tbsp butter in place of the bacon grease and added 1/4 tsp curry powder to the recipe. Since I made this for a party for work, I have been told that all other sausage and gravy pales in comparision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Changed to 5 servings & used .60 pounds of pork. Added garlic powder, cayenne pepper, white pepper & a touch of kitchen bouquet. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was amazing, like the others I used butter in place of bacon grease. I made homemade buttermilk biscuits, which I found on food network's site. It was a perfect breakfast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
We loved this sumptuous gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I used margarine instead of the bacon grease, too, and it turned out good. I added a little more flour while it cooked and simmered for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Made this recipe this morning for my daughter and myself. Very quick and very good. The bacon grease was a little over-powering in the taste though, so I think I'll reduce it down to 2 tbsp. from now on. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Made this for my husband to take to work with JP's biscuits. Fast and easy....I didn't have any bacon grease so I added a little oil to have enough fat to mix with the flour. Cooked it up and threw it in the crockpot so it would stay warm. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Came out delicious. I made this with my homemade biscuits and they loved it. I had to simmer it a lot longer then the recipe called for however to get it to the desired thickness however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian K. Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hedgesville, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good. I didn't have bacon grease, so I used butter as others suggested. Very good flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States