Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My standby sausage gravy recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made this exactly as stated. It was just not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love biscuits and gravy and this gravy is fantastic. Make sure you add the bacon grease and use good sausage. I tried this recipe with the value brand and it kinda sucked. Jimmy Dean all the way! This recipe isn't as fluffy as IHOP's, but it tastes so much better! Oh, and I sometimes double the milk to make more gravy and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
AWESOME GRAVY!!! My husband (who is a sausage gravy snob) said this is the BEST sausage gravy he has ever tasted! Not too salty, not too greasy, just perfect! The second time I made it I used maple flavored sausage, and it was out of this world!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I loved this! I made this for my husband, my 15 yr old son, and his two friends. They all came back for seconds and thirds! I used Jimmy Dean sausage which left almost no grease, so the bacon grease was a must. Also, I added a little more flour because I like a thicker gravy. At the end I felt it needed more flavor (maybe because of the lack of sausage grease, I don't know), so I added some seasoning salt along with fresh ground black pepper. The seasoning salt was the trick. It tasted great! To reheat, just put it back in a pan, add a little milk or cream, and stir. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is truly the best sausage gravy around. Taste better than my favorite restaurant. Very tasty and super easy to make! My family loved it. Will use over and over! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janea Perry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Just the taste I had been looking for. The bacon grease really gave it a great smell and taste, and the consistency turned out perfect. This is the best homemade sausage gravy I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Renee Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was surprised how easy this was to make. My husband was impressed, which is all I ask for! He said it could use a little more pepper next time. I did not add the extra grease and we have extra lean sausage and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly. It came out great. I actually needed the bacon grease because my sausage wasn't very fatty (I used sage pork sausage from local farm - antibiotic free, etc.) But man, it turned out great. My husband loved it, I loved it. I will make this again. yum. thanks. (Next time I might just crumble that bacon up and throw it on in as well... mmmmmm.... bacon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is our new "kick off special" I make it every Sunday for the one o'clock game. It makes a huge batch, is very easy and a huge crowd pleaser over biscuits. I'd give it the extra stars but it does have a fall back (all the guys glued to my couch). Don't be afraid of adding little hot sauce or cayenne ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asia5683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States