Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just came back from a trip down South and tried this for the first time and I couldnt stop thinking about it! I found this recipe but made a few changes based on reviews, I didnt have bacon fat so I just went without it and it turned out fine. I also added 2 cups of milk instead of three because I like it a little bit thicker, but that means it comes out to less than 8 servings. I added a few dashes of Worcestershire and maple syrup and a dash of sage and it was unbelievable!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I have loved this meal since childhood but have never tried making it myself, until tonight. I recently started saving a little bacon grease in the fridge (keeps very well in a sealed container), so I chose this recipe due to that ingredient. I followed the recipe closely, but did add a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce and a sprinkle of sage along with the salt and pepper. Made refrigerated biscuits this time, for convenience sake. Turned out "Fabulous", to quote my 17yo son. Thanks for sharing, definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This recipe was pretty easy, it was the first time I'd ever made gravy and it turned out pretty perfect. The only problem was that I had to spice it up because it was a little bland. However, it gave me a great base recipe for my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki.gillespie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was my first attempt at sausage gravy and it was exactly what I wanted it to be exactly as it was written. Will be making it again and again. So much easier than I thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious!!! Traditional southern sausage gravy. I used 1/2 milk 1/2 water due to lactose intolerance in the household and it is still GOOD sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This gravy was perfect on Christmas morning with Biscuits. I will definately use this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Really, really good! I used butter because I did not have any bacon grease on hand. But I would love to try using it one day. I accidentally added 1/3 instead on 1/4 cup flour so I added more salt, onion powder, and sage to get rid of the flour-y taste. If i make it again I am going to use sage ground pork instead of the plain stuff but it was still fantastic with the plain stuff. I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
First time ever making biscuits and gravy, this recipe is a keeper. My southern raised husband RAVED. His granny used to make everything from scratch and he's grown up with these types of meals. Made it EXACTLY as posted and will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
What a father's day treat (too much fat to eat on a regular basis). DH ate like a king when the kids served him this in bed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States