Sausage Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I printed this recipe out years ago and it is the only one I ever use. It's awesome, and my husband raves about it -- and he's had biscuits and gravy in a lot of places!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
it was ok but i used less milk so it was thicker thanks for the recpie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaigeIzDusty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thompson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My husband said, "this was exactly the way it tastes when I order it from a restaurant." However, I had to modify the recipe to get that taste. The gravy was so incredibly thick and rather bland. I added extra bacon grease, extra pepper, and extra milk. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The bacon drippings really add flavor to this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Excellant easy to make gravy. Especially good over biscuits. Easily adaptable to flavorings of your choice to fit the occasion or your whims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the recipe as written, and the gravy was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My husband and I love the recipe. I didn't have bacon grease so I used butter. This gravy and J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits........the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delish! I've made "my own" sausage gravy for years by the old throw some flour in with the sausage and then add milk and this is basically what this is. I had never added bacon drippings though. I tripled the recipe and got a little heavy handed with the bacon drippings so though a good gravy, the bacon flavor was more prominent than I'd have liked. Not bad flavor, but not as sausagey. I use Tennesee Pride sausage and it's rather mild so used a good half a palmful of sage and as other readers commented, the sage really added some good flavor. I had some evaporated milk that needed to be used to I threw that in along with my skim milk and it bumped up the creamyness and flavor. All in all, this is a keeper. Hubby enjoyed it for brunch and just came back (it's 7:30 PM) and just grabbed a bowl of it. The rest will go in the freezer for an quick meal another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States