Sausage French Bread Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Good recipe, but the bread was too mushy. Try coating the bread with garlic butter first (or garlic/olive oil blend) and lightly toasting. Then, when you add the sauce, you will not drench the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jered

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Fine pizza recipe with endless combination possiblities. If you use the french loaf and want a little less bread, you can scoop out the centers of the loaves to your liking. We did, and also found that provides an area to pack in more toppings like veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xannthippe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Skip the sausage. Use pepperoni that has been microwaved between papertowels, for a non greasy dish that will draw raves from family & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This makes a great quick meal that my kids absolutely loved--they were fighting over the last piece! Next time I will toast the bread before adding toppings to give it more of a crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this as a "pizza night" alternative and we thought it was great. I used hoagie rolls that I toasted first, and added sliced green peppers and mushrooms. What a great Friday night movie dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
How can I not give this recipe 5 stars? For starters it was easy and quick to make. But the best part was it got rave reviews from my husband, three kids and my daughter's friend. They carried on about how delicious it was for so long I was almost embarrassed about how easy it was to make. I used a regular loaf of french bread (not a baguette) and it was plenty as it is very filling. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I have made many variations to this and none are bad. Use any meats & vegetables that you have on hand. Very quick and easy. My family even loves it when there are leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I made this because I used half a loaf of bread last night for garlic bread and needed to use the other half before it went bad. Because I was trying to get rid of leftovers, I didn't use any sausage (I was cooking for one and it's hard to get meat for just one person), but it tasted fine without it :) It's good meal when you want something tasty and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I put a little olive oil and cooked the bread for about 7 min first to avoid sogginess. I also added onion to mine, and next time I will only use half the sausage, as it was way too much. But still, these are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was a quick and easy recipe. I work in a children's home so the conversion works well for me. The only difference was that I got individual sub rolls for each of the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States