Sausage French Bread Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Quick, easy and good. The best combination. Can't eat sausage so I left that off but did add mushrooms. This is such a versatile idea. You can mix and match ingredients just like on pizza. Makes a nice lunch. No more Stouffers for us. Also I never measure the cheese or sauce just spread it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Easy and adaptable to any variations you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a very tasty dish...most of my family really enjoyed it. Some complained that the bread got "soggy", though. I used a loaf of rustic Italian style bread, and I used bulk pork sausage instead of the Bob Evans sausage roll. I felt that the amount of pizza sauce was way off. Only half a cup for two baguette halves? I used WAY more than that. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it is super easy, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Yum! This is such a great and versatile recipe. You could top with whatever pizza toppings you like, doesn't have to be sausage and pepperoni. I hollowed out my bread so it wouldn't be so "bready", used a 15 oz. can of pizza sauce, and used a lot more cheese. Baked until cheese was melted (it was a little longer than 5 minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We enjoyed this alot. One half I put my sons favorites on, the other half what my husband and I like. Would make a good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very easy and very versatile! I used one of the pizza sauce recipes found on this site also. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
i am rating this a "5" the way i make it. making as the recipes states, i'd only rate it about a "4". i used atleast 1 1/2 cups mozzarella & 3/4c sauce per baguette. i also used turkey pepperoni so it wouldn't be so greasy. i also suggest toasting the bread for about 5-10min. prior to adding the sauce(this way the bread doesn't suck up the sauce & you don't end up having mushy bread). excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
delicious! i make this once a week now. you can get creative and add all kinds of toppings...i did a 'spicy french bread pizza' using spicy sausage, jalepenos and grilled peppers. its so easy and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifermagnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was just stupid easy & soo tasty. We do homemade pizza a lot. I'm not sure why it never occured to me to try a french bread version. This will probably become a regular for busy school time weeknights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was good. I still like Stouffer's french bread pizzas a little better.... Made this tonight for my bf and I. I followed the directions to a T except for doing the following: a) brushing the cut sides of my baugette with a little melted butter and garlic powder and broiling for a minute (watch carefully!) to toast (this took care of the soggy problem that some reviewers mentioned), b) subbed a combination of mozzarella/cheddar cheese for the Italian blend called for and c) added a little bit of dried minced onion (appox. 1/2 T), Italian seasoning (1/2 t) and crushed fennel seed (1/4 t) to the sausage as it browned. My bf thought the sauce was too sweet, but that can easily be fixed by switching brands or making my own. I do agree with one of the reviewers who found this to be more of a meal idea rather than a recipe, but for what's it worth, it's a good, cheap and quick meal. I will make this again, but next time, will layer the sausage and finish with the cheese as my sausage kept falling off - lol! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States