Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This is a very simple recipe and very impressive. I brought a triple batch to a family gathering and went home with none. I left off the sour cream and green onion and prepared a simple dipping sauce of sour cream and taco seasoning for them instead. I also used plain ground pork and a very mild salsa which made them very kid friendly. The second batch I made with Seasoned pork and hotter salsa. Next time I will go back to the plain ground pork and rely on the salsa for the seasoning. MAKE THESE! You will receive lots of praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very easy. Gave me ideas for trying other fillings in wontons such as greek sausage with cucumber ranch dressing or cooked apple and spices for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Simple and easy. I love recipes that look like I slaved for hours. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I made them for a Christmas Eve buffet and made them the night before. They are delicious. I will definatley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Seidel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I first made these in 2003 and they've been a staple for my appetizer parties ever since. I use a combination of sweet and hot sausage, which, because it can be hard to break up during cooking, after draining I put in the food processor for a couple pulses. That way it has nice, even texture. I also use a combination of pineapple salsa and sweet hot pepper & onion relish, both of which gave it a hint of sweetness and zing. Between the hot sausage and the relish, it has a real bite. The sour cream cuts that, though. I always use a pastry bag to apply the sour cream; makes it neat, quick and easy. A make-ahead tip is to pre-bake the wonton skins, using a small wooden pastry dowel to press them GENTLY into the tin, sprayed with Pam. Spray the skins lightly prior to baking, and watch them in the oven; they can burn quickly. I then use a small scoop to fill the cups with the sausage mixture that I warmed up separately. This way you can make both days ahead (store the cooled cups in a resealable bag), then assemble just prior to plating. The thing I love about these is the texture...crunchy (from skins above the muffin rim) and chewy (part encasing the sausage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This recipe was great! I made it for a SB party. I made a double batch and it was still the first thing gone. Everyone wanted the recipe. I used hot salsa and the italian sausage and it wasn't bland at all. I did put the sour cream and green onions on the side. I will use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
My husband and I tried these and really liked them. The only problem I had was that although I drained and rinsed the sausage, the appetizers still tasted a little greasy as they cooled a bit. I am not really a fan of sausage, anyway, so that could have contributed to my 'picky-ness'. I think that this is a great idea, and will try other fillings. Seasoned and grilled chicken would be wonderful. Beef taco filling would be good. Or, even doing a crab rangoon filling and topping with sweet and sour might be worth a try. What about all diced veggies (peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.) that have been tossed with a little seasoned olive oil and topped with parmesan after baking? The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I made these a Christmas time. This and D's Salsa (also on this site) were my absolute 2 favorite items at the party. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
These are very good and an easy way to use won ton wrappers. I also made them with other fillings, like chicken and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Whomever thought of this recipe is a genius. I have made it numerous times for parties and it has been the hit. I have given out this recipe and have had nothing but raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I made these for a party and everyone loved them. I think everyone left with the recipe. The second time I made them ahead of time, but they are not good reheated. We used spicy sausage for a little kick. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States