Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
A friend of mine would not share this recipe -- so glad you posted this here. These are easy, tasty and typically the first appetizer to be eaten. Bake the Wonton wrappers first, then fill with the sausage mixture and reheat. This will prevent the wrappers from being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent - delicious, different and a real "statement piece" on your appetizer table. Best yet, no rocket science involved to make them - no pointers needed, no changes. So easy you could almost do this with one arm tied behind your back. One suggestion - once these are baked remove them from the muffin tin, place them on a cookie sheet and put them back in the oven to crisp up the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Robin Seidel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I first made these in 2003 and they've been a staple for my appetizer parties ever since. I use a combination of sweet and hot sausage, which, because it can be hard to break up during cooking, after draining I put in the food processor for a couple pulses. That way it has nice, even texture. I also use a combination of pineapple salsa and sweet hot pepper & onion relish, both of which gave it a hint of sweetness and zing. Between the hot sausage and the relish, it has a real bite. The sour cream cuts that, though. I always use a pastry bag to apply the sour cream; makes it neat, quick and easy. A make-ahead tip is to pre-bake the wonton skins, using a small wooden pastry dowel to press them GENTLY into the tin, sprayed with Pam. Spray the skins lightly prior to baking, and watch them in the oven; they can burn quickly. I then use a small scoop to fill the cups with the sausage mixture that I warmed up separately. This way you can make both days ahead (store the cooled cups in a resealable bag), then assemble just prior to plating. The thing I love about these is the texture...crunchy (from skins above the muffin rim) and chewy (part encasing the sausage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This is a very simple recipe and very impressive. I brought a triple batch to a family gathering and went home with none. I left off the sour cream and green onion and prepared a simple dipping sauce of sour cream and taco seasoning for them instead. I also used plain ground pork and a very mild salsa which made them very kid friendly. The second batch I made with Seasoned pork and hotter salsa. Next time I will go back to the plain ground pork and rely on the salsa for the seasoning. MAKE THESE! You will receive lots of praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
My husband and I tried these and really liked them. The only problem I had was that although I drained and rinsed the sausage, the appetizers still tasted a little greasy as they cooled a bit. I am not really a fan of sausage, anyway, so that could have contributed to my 'picky-ness'. I think that this is a great idea, and will try other fillings. Seasoned and grilled chicken would be wonderful. Beef taco filling would be good. Or, even doing a crab rangoon filling and topping with sweet and sour might be worth a try. What about all diced veggies (peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.) that have been tossed with a little seasoned olive oil and topped with parmesan after baking? The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I love this recipe; try brushing the wonton 'cups' with oil, especially on the tips, prior to baking for 5 min. before filling with sausage mixture. Return to oven to bake an additional 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
All in all the recipe was okay, but I would probably try ground beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These are quick and easy appetizers!!! The only thing I noticed was that they were a little salty... And if you are in a rush, the pre-made phyllo dough cups in the frozen food section at the supermarket prove to be a cinch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Simple and easy. I love recipes that look like I slaved for hours. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I made them for a Christmas Eve buffet and made them the night before. They are delicious. I will definatley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This recipe was great! I made it for a SB party. I made a double batch and it was still the first thing gone. Everyone wanted the recipe. I used hot salsa and the italian sausage and it wasn't bland at all. I did put the sour cream and green onions on the side. I will use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States