Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This recipe was great! I made it for a SB party. I made a double batch and it was still the first thing gone. Everyone wanted the recipe. I used hot salsa and the italian sausage and it wasn't bland at all. I did put the sour cream and green onions on the side. I will use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I made these for our SB party. Didn't have wonton wrappers, so I used some phyllo dough and made the squares only 2". Added an extra 1/2c of MJ cheese, and cooked them at 400 degrees. The buttery taste of the phyllo didn't interfere with the sausage mix. I will make this again, next time adding a few more ingredients and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
THis was a little disappointing. Even with the sausage it was little bland, and the wonton wrappers were a little soggy. I liked the idea, though, and they looked pretty. I will try it again sometime, but will use ground beef and kick it up with more of a queso cheese sauce. Maybe precook the wontons a little to crisp them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very easy. Gave me ideas for trying other fillings in wontons such as greek sausage with cucumber ranch dressing or cooked apple and spices for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Seidel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I first made these in 2003 and they've been a staple for my appetizer parties ever since. I use a combination of sweet and hot sausage, which, because it can be hard to break up during cooking, after draining I put in the food processor for a couple pulses. That way it has nice, even texture. I also use a combination of pineapple salsa and sweet hot pepper & onion relish, both of which gave it a hint of sweetness and zing. Between the hot sausage and the relish, it has a real bite. The sour cream cuts that, though. I always use a pastry bag to apply the sour cream; makes it neat, quick and easy. A make-ahead tip is to pre-bake the wonton skins, using a small wooden pastry dowel to press them GENTLY into the tin, sprayed with Pam. Spray the skins lightly prior to baking, and watch them in the oven; they can burn quickly. I then use a small scoop to fill the cups with the sausage mixture that I warmed up separately. This way you can make both days ahead (store the cooled cups in a resealable bag), then assemble just prior to plating. The thing I love about these is the texture...crunchy (from skins above the muffin rim) and chewy (part encasing the sausage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Just made these yesterday for super bowl. Men all loved them! Very easy to make. Took reviewers advice and mixed sour cream with seasoning and scallions on the side. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Winning appetizer served at our Superbowl party. We sealed and twisted the tops of the wrappers for less mess as a finger food. Also made some with only cream cheese and salsa mixture that were very tasty. Did not use toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Simple and easy. I love recipes that look like I slaved for hours. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I made them for a Christmas Eve buffet and made them the night before. They are delicious. I will definatley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This is a very simple recipe and very impressive. I brought a triple batch to a family gathering and went home with none. I left off the sour cream and green onion and prepared a simple dipping sauce of sour cream and taco seasoning for them instead. I also used plain ground pork and a very mild salsa which made them very kid friendly. The second batch I made with Seasoned pork and hotter salsa. Next time I will go back to the plain ground pork and rely on the salsa for the seasoning. MAKE THESE! You will receive lots of praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
All in all the recipe was okay, but I would probably try ground beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States