Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made these for New Years; it made a TON of them and there was really no good way to keep them warm for the length of the party. We used a sterno steam tray (with heated water under food pan to keep it warm) but I found that the flowers got pretty soggy. I think that I would halve the recipe next time and perhaps change it to a taco concept using ground beef, taco seasoning and much of the same other ingredients as listed here for the sausage flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
My husband and I tried these and really liked them. The only problem I had was that although I drained and rinsed the sausage, the appetizers still tasted a little greasy as they cooled a bit. I am not really a fan of sausage, anyway, so that could have contributed to my 'picky-ness'. I think that this is a great idea, and will try other fillings. Seasoned and grilled chicken would be wonderful. Beef taco filling would be good. Or, even doing a crab rangoon filling and topping with sweet and sour might be worth a try. What about all diced veggies (peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.) that have been tossed with a little seasoned olive oil and topped with parmesan after baking? The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Extraordinarily easy recipe--especially for a non-cook like myself--very nice presentation and greatly enjoyed. One caveat, though, it took longer than 25 minutes for prep--I'd allow at least 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This recipe was great! I made it for a SB party. I made a double batch and it was still the first thing gone. Everyone wanted the recipe. I used hot salsa and the italian sausage and it wasn't bland at all. I did put the sour cream and green onions on the side. I will use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I made these for our SB party. Didn't have wonton wrappers, so I used some phyllo dough and made the squares only 2". Added an extra 1/2c of MJ cheese, and cooked them at 400 degrees. The buttery taste of the phyllo didn't interfere with the sausage mix. I will make this again, next time adding a few more ingredients and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
THis was a little disappointing. Even with the sausage it was little bland, and the wonton wrappers were a little soggy. I liked the idea, though, and they looked pretty. I will try it again sometime, but will use ground beef and kick it up with more of a queso cheese sauce. Maybe precook the wontons a little to crisp them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very easy. Gave me ideas for trying other fillings in wontons such as greek sausage with cucumber ranch dressing or cooked apple and spices for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Seidel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I first made these in 2003 and they've been a staple for my appetizer parties ever since. I use a combination of sweet and hot sausage, which, because it can be hard to break up during cooking, after draining I put in the food processor for a couple pulses. That way it has nice, even texture. I also use a combination of pineapple salsa and sweet hot pepper & onion relish, both of which gave it a hint of sweetness and zing. Between the hot sausage and the relish, it has a real bite. The sour cream cuts that, though. I always use a pastry bag to apply the sour cream; makes it neat, quick and easy. A make-ahead tip is to pre-bake the wonton skins, using a small wooden pastry dowel to press them GENTLY into the tin, sprayed with Pam. Spray the skins lightly prior to baking, and watch them in the oven; they can burn quickly. I then use a small scoop to fill the cups with the sausage mixture that I warmed up separately. This way you can make both days ahead (store the cooled cups in a resealable bag), then assemble just prior to plating. The thing I love about these is the texture...crunchy (from skins above the muffin rim) and chewy (part encasing the sausage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Just made these yesterday for super bowl. Men all loved them! Very easy to make. Took reviewers advice and mixed sour cream with seasoning and scallions on the side. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Winning appetizer served at our Superbowl party. We sealed and twisted the tops of the wrappers for less mess as a finger food. Also made some with only cream cheese and salsa mixture that were very tasty. Did not use toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States