Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Great recipe! I mixed up the sausage mixture the day before I wanted to serve them and then stuffed premade phyllo cups with it the morning of my party. I mixed the sour cream and green onions together and served it on the side. It was a wonderful topping since I used very hot sausage and extra cheese. Stuffing mushrooms with the sausage mixture would make a great low carb appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I made these for a party and everyone loved them. I think everyone left with the recipe. The second time I made them ahead of time, but they are not good reheated. We used spicy sausage for a little kick. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Whomever thought of this recipe is a genius. I have made it numerous times for parties and it has been the hit. I have given out this recipe and have had nothing but raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
These are very good and an easy way to use won ton wrappers. I also made them with other fillings, like chicken and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I made these a Christmas time. This and D's Salsa (also on this site) were my absolute 2 favorite items at the party. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These are quick and easy appetizers!!! The only thing I noticed was that they were a little salty... And if you are in a rush, the pre-made phyllo dough cups in the frozen food section at the supermarket prove to be a cinch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
A friend of mine would not share this recipe -- so glad you posted this here. These are easy, tasty and typically the first appetizer to be eaten. Bake the Wonton wrappers first, then fill with the sausage mixture and reheat. This will prevent the wrappers from being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
These are excellent. Not fussy at all. Great for casual snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made these for New Years; it made a TON of them and there was really no good way to keep them warm for the length of the party. We used a sterno steam tray (with heated water under food pan to keep it warm) but I found that the flowers got pretty soggy. I think that I would halve the recipe next time and perhaps change it to a taco concept using ground beef, taco seasoning and much of the same other ingredients as listed here for the sausage flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
My husband and I tried these and really liked them. The only problem I had was that although I drained and rinsed the sausage, the appetizers still tasted a little greasy as they cooled a bit. I am not really a fan of sausage, anyway, so that could have contributed to my 'picky-ness'. I think that this is a great idea, and will try other fillings. Seasoned and grilled chicken would be wonderful. Beef taco filling would be good. Or, even doing a crab rangoon filling and topping with sweet and sour might be worth a try. What about all diced veggies (peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.) that have been tossed with a little seasoned olive oil and topped with parmesan after baking? The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States