Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were really good! And not too difficult to fix. Took them to a party where they all quickly disappeared. Several people asked for the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was told about Sausage Flowers from a co-worker and promptly found the recipe here. It is a favorite at any gathering and I never have left-overs. A couple of things that I wanted to pass on are: (1) You can substitute Hot Sausage for Italian for more kick and use a mexican blend of shredded cheese. (2) The meat, cheese, and salsa mixture can be made in advance. You can take it to the party and just reheat in the microwave (to warm it) then put it in the wonton wraps and bake. (3) I have also made them 100% in advance, baked them for 5 minutes, then finished them for 5 at the party. Super easy, super delicious, and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
next time will make in a phyllo cup instead of wonton the wonton skin on the bottom was a little chewy, but the flavor of the filling was amazing. I used hot italian sausage, cheddar and mozzerella. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These are good warm, but not a set out all afternoon and snack type app.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Filling is great, and the wonton wrappers LOOK pretty, but mine came out chewy, and didn't add anything to the flavor presentation. I'll try again, but will probably use crescent dough pressed into the muffin cups, or the pre-made phyllo cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These are great and very easy! I also made the filling ahead of time and put them in the just as my guests were arriving. I did have to up the temp and bake them longer than 10 minutes. Next time I will try to bake the wonton wrappers before putting the filling in. The biggest change I made was using pork chorizo instead of sausage. This was delicious!! Just be sure to get rid of all of the grease from the chorizo otherwise it will get soggy. I drained the grease and left the meat sitting on paper towels for a while. Now I just wish I had more chorizo to use up the rest of the wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
couldnt find wontons so used phyllo shells. used sweet italian sausage. also sprinkled chopped black olive with green onion. black olive was the only change i liked. they were still eaten by most. next time i will try this as written instead of with whats available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I make something similar except that instead of salsa and sour cream add a cup of ranch and some(3-4) finely chopped green olives. A totally different taste but a good one at that. I get a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These are fantastic and so, so easy! My husband loved them- in fact, there were only three of us the first time I made them and the two boys ate them all! Then I took them to a tailgate and they were the first thing to run out- I should have doubled or tripled. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States