Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
ok.... fresh out of the oven these were great. a little labor intensive but very flavorful. However they were not good after they cooled some because they got VERY soggy. I really liked the flavor and idea but think i will put them in tostitos scoops next time so there won't be a soggy issue when they are cold. iv baked alot of things in scoops and they never get soggy! thanks for the method!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle Hastings Carraway

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent - delicious, different and a real "statement piece" on your appetizer table. Best yet, no rocket science involved to make them - no pointers needed, no changes. So easy you could almost do this with one arm tied behind your back. One suggestion - once these are baked remove them from the muffin tin, place them on a cookie sheet and put them back in the oven to crisp up the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
love this recipe and want this to work but I must be doing something wrong. I feel the are a little greasy when I remove them from muffin pan. help please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were really good! And not too difficult to fix. Took them to a party where they all quickly disappeared. Several people asked for the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was told about Sausage Flowers from a co-worker and promptly found the recipe here. It is a favorite at any gathering and I never have left-overs. A couple of things that I wanted to pass on are: (1) You can substitute Hot Sausage for Italian for more kick and use a mexican blend of shredded cheese. (2) The meat, cheese, and salsa mixture can be made in advance. You can take it to the party and just reheat in the microwave (to warm it) then put it in the wonton wraps and bake. (3) I have also made them 100% in advance, baked them for 5 minutes, then finished them for 5 at the party. Super easy, super delicious, and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
next time will make in a phyllo cup instead of wonton the wonton skin on the bottom was a little chewy, but the flavor of the filling was amazing. I used hot italian sausage, cheddar and mozzerella. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These are good warm, but not a set out all afternoon and snack type app.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Filling is great, and the wonton wrappers LOOK pretty, but mine came out chewy, and didn't add anything to the flavor presentation. I'll try again, but will probably use crescent dough pressed into the muffin cups, or the pre-made phyllo cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These are great and very easy! I also made the filling ahead of time and put them in the just as my guests were arriving. I did have to up the temp and bake them longer than 10 minutes. Next time I will try to bake the wonton wrappers before putting the filling in. The biggest change I made was using pork chorizo instead of sausage. This was delicious!! Just be sure to get rid of all of the grease from the chorizo otherwise it will get soggy. I drained the grease and left the meat sitting on paper towels for a while. Now I just wish I had more chorizo to use up the rest of the wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States